macbook pro and external monitor ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by onlyapple, May 8, 2012.

  1. onlyapple macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #1
    hey guys,

    I am a bit stuck. I set up my room and wanted to use my macbook pro with a hp w1907.

    I got the usual cables that are needed and then hooked it up and it worked, I was using my mac on the monitor.

    so I moved the monitor to suit my needs and unplugged the cables and once they where in the right spot I plugged it all back in and now its just not working. I know it works though because when i plug the cable into my mac it turns blue for a second like it does when there is a external monitor plugged in.

    also the tab arrangement doesn't come up either.

    like I said i have had it working before and I dont understand whats happened.

    thanks for your responses.
     
  2. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
  3. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
  4. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #4
    yes everything is connected fine, thats why I am really confused to why its not working now :/
     
  5. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    Have you tried Apple Menu --> System Preferences --> Displays --> Detect Displays?
     
  6. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #6
    yes :/ thanks for your response but yes I have tried it. it sucks because I have a really good setup finally and it just stops working. I have gone and unplugged everything and replugged it all. I have checked every cable is right and everything.
     
  7. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #7
    Maybe it's really the external display port malfunctioning. Do you have any other monitors at hand to test it with?
     
  8. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #8
    hmm I have my samsung tv, so I will test with that. thanks again for your response its appreciated.
     
  9. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #9
    yeah it works fine with my tv, I really don't understand why it isn't working with the monitor.
     
  10. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #10
    Have you tested the monitor with another computer?
     
  11. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #11
    no, I will give that ago tomorrow morning. thankyou once ago
     
  12. onlyapple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    australia
    #12
    sorry it took so long, yes it works with my windows laptop (school laptop)

    as soon as I plugged it in the windows computer it worked straight away.
     
  13. whiteonline macrumors 6502

    whiteonline

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #13
    Are you using gfxcardstatus? If so, make sure you have it set for dynamic switching prior to plugging in the external monitor. I've gotten bit by this when prepping for a presentation.

    edit:
    oops, never mind. saw you have 13" in you sig.
     

Share This Page