MacBook pro and gaming

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by juan370Z, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. juan370Z macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Just wondering can I max out crisys 2 on my MacBook pro?
    I have
    I7 2.3 ghz (2011)
    8gb ram
    512 ssd
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Most likely not. Your GPU will be the limiting factor there. It probably would be playable, just not a max settings.
     
  3. juan370Z thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Damn..I was hoping I can max it out. It there anything I can do to do it? ( max it out)
     
  4. juan370Z thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Not even with the turbo boost to3.4 ghz?
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    Unfortunately no, there is no way to upgrade the graphics. The CPU is fine for gaming, and certainly could handle those settings, but if the graphics can't keep up, it doesn't make a difference.
     
  6. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #6
    even if you all of your other components were OC'ed/maxed out, you would still be bottlenecked by the gpu. gpu is the most important thing for gaming.
     
  7. juan370Z thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Ahhh dammit. I wish you could upgrade the graphics I would have bought it. I'm really trying not to buy an alienware just for gaming.
     
  8. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #8
    you don't have to.

    just buy a regular ol' windows laptop with a gpu that can max it out, if you are really so concerned with doing so.
     
  9. juan370Z thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Damn.. Then why won't apple give us the choice of putting a good gpu?
     
  10. Hyper-X macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #10
    Gaming at max settings depend on your hardware, on a MBP you don't have much choices as Macbooks in general will always get beat by a comparable PC equivalent.

    On my MBP, the Intel HD 3000 is pretty decent but I'm finding games where there's a lack of support hampering me from using certain settings. This is partly due to the game manufacturer not providing full support however if the game runs, you could simply do some trial and error tests to see what kind of visuals you get for the settings chosen.
     
  11. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #11
    lol, the 15'' and 17'' do have good gpus, people don't buy macs to max out crysis.
     
  12. juan370Z thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Lol I know but still.. It would be nice if you could upgrade it. I do get tired of just working i'n my Mac. Lol
     
  13. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    Obviously that's wrong given the OP.
     
  14. 2hvy4grvty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #14
    Short of SLI/CF 485/580/6970, no laptop is going to "max out" Crysis 2 at playable framerates. That's a 200 W TDP setup (and stovetop), not factoring anything else in the laptop.

    Spoiled kids... enjoy your 4k MBP!
     
  15. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #15
    Even an Alienware M18x with the newly announced SLI GTX580M probably won't max out Crysis 2 on Ultra with DX11 and Hi-Res textures.

    Your MBP will play it pretty well on medium settings. Just build a GTX580 gaming PC if you need the eye candy.
     
  16. 2hvy4grvty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #16
    Well, I can't disprove that, or prove that, having no access to aforementioned setup [and won't have access to].

    However, I do implore you to at least check out: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Alienware-M18x-Notebook.55194.0.html

    I'm not sure what the exact specifications of "ultra" is, but 1080p + max textures is assumed. No mention of AA though, and that's what really kills cards.
     
  17. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #17
    Its not here yet but soon

    http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/27/nvidia-teases-a-pair-of-mystery-laptop-gpus-running-crysis-2-vi/
     

Share This Page