MacBook Pro and half life 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Thekuvaman, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. Thekuvaman, Jan 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2014

    Thekuvaman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Thekuvaman
    macrumors newbie

    Join Date: Jan 2014
    Location: Canada
    Hey guys, I realize this is an old thread but I'm into throwback gaming from when I was young and HL2 is on the top of my list. I was wondering why my late 2013 rMBP 15 2.3GHz i7 quad core with 16 G ram, nvidia GT750M with 2G ram has so much lag in open areas with in the game. It literally becomes unplayable, gotta be single digit fps.. I certainly expected a LOT more out of my nearly $3000 laptop. I'm still fairly new to apple products so before I get into disassembling this thing, are there any quick things I may be missing as to why it lags so horribly?? I love this game and want to get back to killing combine ASAP!!!!

    Thekuvaman
    macrumors newbie

    I'm sorry, I forgot to mention that I've also downloaded gfxCardStatus to assign my discrete gpu manually. It's not using the integral chip; I'm getting these poor fps on the discrete gpu... There must be something we can do to utilize these specs. This machine, in all respects, should rip through this game-no sweat. Please help, much appreciated
     
  2. blooperz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #2
    Apple's Nvidia drivers are notoriously bad/outdated and you can't manually update them in OSx....load up bootcamp and play it in windows...you'll see a massive boost in gaming capability. After installing windows you'll still have to go to Nvidia's website and manually update the windows nvidia drivers since apple doesn't include the latest ones in its bootcamp windows support files (go figure)

    cheers
     
  3. Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Thanks blooperz,

    Yeah I thot there was something going on here. Yes I will do that as soon as I can. I'm not super familiar with the whole bootcamping process, however. Are there any good tutorials that you might recommend or help sites?
     
  4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    HL2 runs great in OS X on my 2011 MacBook Pro with AMD GPU. The GeForce 750M on newer rMBPs is not nearly optimized. Hopefully 10.9.2 will bring some relief.

    In the meantime, Boot Camp would be your best option. While I haven't had any major issues with Windows 8.1, I still prefer 7. You can buy an OEM/system builder version of W7 Home Premium for less than $100. IMO, since you are unfamiliar with Boot Camp, I would spend the money on an external DVD drive. It doesn't have to be the Apple SuperDrive so you can save money with a cheaper USB model. Once you have the drive and Windows DVD, read and follow the directions outlined in the Boot Camp installation and setup guide.

    Alternatively, you can create a bootable installer with an 8 GB USB thumb drive, but this would require you to create an .ISO image of Windows, and you'd need an optical drive anyway. If you have a separate Windows PC with an optical drive, Microsoft released a free DVD to USB utility that automated the process.

    When running Boot Camp Assistant, be sure to leave the box checked that says to download the latest Windows support software from Apple. You can have BCA copy the files to a USB drive or burn them to a DVD, but you must obtain the files this way. Unfortunately, Apple has not posted a separate download on its support site for drivers that are compatible with the late-2013 rMBP. Be advised that the download can take quite a long time. If it fails or times out, keep trying.

    Follow the instructions to partition your hard drive however you want. I recommend 60 GB at the absolute minimum. If you're going to install games, you need to be especially mindful of this. Saints Row IV, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, Bioshock Infinite, and Max Payne 3 combined can occupy 100 GB on their own.

    Keep a clear head, don't rush, follow the directions, and you should be fine. Good luck.
     
  5. blooperz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #5
    Theres no need for an optical drive to install windows. Just use bootcamp assistant and it will create a bootable USB drive for you (you will need a USB stick with at least 4 gigs of free space on it roughly). The only thing you need to do beforehand is obtain an ISO image of windows.

    If you are installing windows 7 I would recommend : http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/

    Those are official ISO images and I've used them on several occasions. Just make sure you pick the correct system and version (64/32 bit...home/pro)

    I upgraded to windows 8.1 ($69 with the student discount) and obtaining an ISO image is a little different then for windows 7 but you can get it directly out of the microsoft installer...So if you do indeed plan on installing windows 8.1 I will be happy to explain what needs to be done to get the ISO file out of your windows installer but for now I'm leaving those instructions out because I don't know which version you plan on installing.

    After you have your iso file simply find it in the bootcamp utility when it asks you which iso to use, and the rest is more or less automated. After the computer resets it will provide you with a list of drives to install windows OS on. Pick the partition you set aside for bootcamp and hit "format". after its done formatting that drive click on it and hit next.

    Like the poster above me noted windows takes up a good amount of space (you can disable the hibernation file to free up 8-16 gigs of space, however much ram you have, since its not really necessary). I have my partition set to 100 gigs which leaves me with enough room for all my games and a bit extra just in case.

    Btw bootcamp is completely reversible, I know a lot of new users are worried that they might harm their mac by installing windows but theres really nothing to worry about. DO install some sort of antivirus protection though once windows is up and running as it is still susceptible like any other windows pc.... but a free antivirus + safe browsing habits should mean theres nothing to worry about. And worst case scenario you can just un-bootcamp to wipe that partition and start over if its ever needed.

    The last thing I would like to note is that after you've got windows up and running and downloaded all the updates, go to Nvidia.com and manually search for the latest drivers for the GT750m. You will have to manually download and install these (just double click on it after its downloaded it will take care of the rest). Apple does not include the latest Nvidia drivers in its windows support software, obviously windows is a low priority for them :)

    Cheers
     
  6. Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Thank you for the prompt returns guys. As soon as I get a chance here I'll see what I can do with your advice. I appreciate it.
     
  7. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #7
    I must say I'm rather surprised. I played through all of HL2, EP1-2 in OS X on my Late '08 MacBook with a 256MB 9400M. Got 30 FPS with it at native res and medium settings. Even better under Boot Camp. One would think something that's many times more powerful would be able to handle it. Is it the Steam version you're running?

    I remember playing thorough it the first time on an old custom built Pentium 4 with a GeForce 2 MX 400. And HL1 on my Pentium 3. Still have the disk.

    Currently though I've got a Mid 2010 with the 330M and it runs around 60FPS no problem. I do remember having an issue with the Windows version way back on my old Dell where certain areas would drop to 1-2 FPS for whatever reason. It usually happened when there was a train :confused:
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    The fps I get in HL2 on my computer is so high with every turned up, it stays stuck at 299fps.

    I don't think this computer has trouble handling a eight year old game ;)
     
  9. yangchewren macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #9
    There is a chance this may be due to thermal throttling. Have you set a maximum fps?

    Turn on developer console in settings, click "~" and type "fps_max 60"
     
  10. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #10
    I played it with my mbp retina 15" and it didn't lag except one time for like 20 seconds, then i completed the whole game with 60fps+, its a game from 2004 this computer can handle it more than well.
     
  11. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #11
    I think it's not normal. When I get back home I'll try running HL2 on my late 2013 13" rMBP with 2,4GHz i5 and Iris graphics. We'll see how it goes - I bet your unit is somehow broken.
     
  12. SarcasticJoe macrumors 6502a

    SarcasticJoe

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    That doesn't sound right... Are you sure that something slightly heavier wasn't running in the background? Maybe OSX was still indexing the disc drive (which is a really heavy process)? Maybe you're trying to run it at native resolution?

    I'd recommend shutting down everything else, checking from the Activity Monitor that there isn't heavy system processes going on and then re-trying because the 750M should be more than able to handle the game at normal resolutions. If you've set it to the native resolution (2880x1800), that might be an issue as not even PC gamers play games at that resolution and they play them on considerably faster desktop cards. In that case scaling down the resolution to something like 1920x1200 should do the trick.

    So unless you were playing it at native resolution, that really shouldn't happen as GPU's with a fraction of the performance can handle the game just fine.
     
  13. Thekuvaman, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014

    Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    I must say I'm rather surprised. I played through all of HL2, EP1-2 in OS X on my Late '08 MacBook with a 256MB 9400M. Got 30 FPS with it at native res and medium settings. Even better under Boot Camp. One would think something that's many times more powerful would be able to handle it. Is it the Steam version you're running?

    Yes Brett, it is the steam version. This new retina does not come with an optical drive, like most new macs, and I still haven't picked up an external. So right now I'll do what I can to make the steam version run well. Another poster mentioned about how apple doesn't have drivers for their hardware. IMO that's seems strange; why wouldn't you wanna optimize your hardware? Perhaps in a future update..?? Hopefully

    I apologize Brett, I don't think I quoted you properly there.. The top paragraph is supposed to be your quote..
     
  14. UBS28 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #14
    Half life 2 runs maxed out on my 330m. So it can't be the 750m that's to blame. Try install bootcamp and see if it is better.
     
  15. Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    No, actually I've got ALL the settings turned down as far as they will go. Including resolution. I first noticed it lagging at the part where you're in the airboat and you approach the gate stations with a lot of activity inside the walls of these stations. It only lags when I pan my view towards these stations. I mean the visuals, and even the sound stutters, and horribly at that! Which makes me think that Merode may be right. It may be something faulty with the Mac..
     
  16. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #16
    Check game files' integrity. Maybe some file is corrupt, as you describe it happens only in one situation.

    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=2037-QEUH-3335
     
  17. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #17
    I think that game will run on pretty much anything these days.

    You know a game is old when it runs OK on an HD3000...
     
  18. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #18
    There is no non-Steam version of Half-Life 2. You need the client in order to play the game.

    In any case, have you forced the game to run on the integrated GPU to see if that helps? If it runs fine on the Iris Pro, then I would still go ahead and install Windows. You can operate Windows 7 on a trial basis for 30 days without a license key. Boot Camp forces the discreet GPU to be enabled at all times. Once you've set it up and installed the latest GPU drivers from nvidia.com, get HL2 up and running there (you don't need to re-buy it). If the game is still lagging, then there is certainly a hardware problem, and you should either exchange the system. If you're past the return policy, send it in or go to your local Apple store/authorized service provider for a repair. If the game runs fine under Boot Camp, then it's most likely a software/GPU driver problem, and you won't have much choice but to wait until Apple releases OS X 10.9.2, which should have newer drivers.
     
  19. SarcasticJoe macrumors 6502a

    SarcasticJoe

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    Well then that does DEFINITELY not sound right. Like I said, turn off all other programs and make sure that any heavy system processes aren't running before retrying. If that doesn't work, then delete the local contents for the game, re-download them (in their entirety) and then try again.

    The next step after that is probably an OS reinstall.

    Seriously thou, it runs more than fine on my machine despite my machine has half the RAM, a CPU two generations behind, a GPU with only a small fraction of the performance of yours and a much slower SSD. Your machine basically beats mine in every category by a significant margin and should perform in a way that reflects this.
     
  20. Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    Yes Merode I'll try that. You may be right. This Mac is less than two months old so if it comes to faulty files, or even OS reinstall I might just take it back to apple. If all these fail I may have no choice but to bootcamp it. Either that or wait for the next update in hopes they'll have appropriate driver upgrades... I will try forcing the integrated chip to perform and see if that makes a difference.
     
  21. Thekuvaman, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014

    Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    Ok, I tried the integrated chip only and it performs quite fine now. So it's looking like the software isn't optimizing the hardware. I guess I'll try the bootcamping the system, or waiting for the update. I haven't decided yet. But I see from a recent 10.9.2 build article that apple is asking dev's to focus on graphics drivers, so I'm hoping they will magically make all these problems go away :)

    http://www.macrumors.com/2013/12/19/apple-seeds-first-os-x-10-9-2-build-to-developers/
     
  22. Thekuvaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    Thanks guys for all the responses. Very helpful indeed :)
     
  23. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #23
    Since you're outside the return window, I would hold off for the software update. It should be out relatively soon. If it doesn't work, fire up Boot Camp like I mentioned above. If the 750M acts the same in Windows as it does in OS X, take it to an Apple store/authorized retailer, and demonstrate the problem in front of the technician in both operating systems. If they can see the issue in both operating systems, there should be less/no hassle with getting a repair.
     

Share This Page