Macbook Pro and OSX Snow leopard issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sup3r1or, Jun 25, 2010.

1. sup3r1or macrumors regular

Greetings to everyone,

This is my first post, I have just joined and I hope for your help in this wonderful community.

After hearing hype about macs for countless years, I finally decided to jump on a mac band-wagon. Since Im a student and limited on the budget I purchased Macbook pro 13 2010 model.

My enjoyment is slowly turning into frustration, these are the issues Iam experiencing:

1. Tap to click on multitouch trackpad occasionally does not work.

2. I had my system froze upon quitting from safari, my dock and top panel were gone and there was nothing I could do.

3. Also get occasional system hiccups while typing in word or quitting applications, that last up to 5 seconds or more.

4. Upon updating to 10.6.4 I noticed a very big dive in performance, system loads much longer and overall system works slower than on 10.6.3

5. when I boot the system up rarely my top panel with apple icon is missing, I have to manually start any application for it to appear again.

Is this normal or something is wrong with my system? can anyone give me some advice please.

Thank you so much.

2. davidlv macrumors 65816

No, that is certainly not normal. You could try downloading the combo Updater for 10.6.4 from the Apple Support page and reinstall 10.6.4 (your data and information will not be erased). Ater that, run the Software Update in the System Preferences, and then do a Repair disk permissions from Disk Utility. Booting up from the OS DVD disk and using Disk Utility to repair the HD is also a good idea when you are having weird issues.