MacBook Pro battery life

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Art3mis, Dec 22, 2013.

1. Art3mis macrumors newbie

Art3mis

I know I'm probably biting the bullet on this one, and it's been asked a HUNDRED times before, but I've tried all of the usual stuff and my macbook battery is still pretty average compared to what I thought it should be.

I've heard that keeping the macbook plugged in can make the battery worse, so I try to keep it unplugged for as much time as possible, but I'm a writer so it can prove difficult at times when I need to write for long periods of times.

I've got my brightness turned down to the minimum, keyboard backlight is off completely, bluetooth is off, I've quit as many apps as possible (I have the ones I'm using running). Is there anything else I should think of doing? If I turn Time Machine off will it still remember my backups from previous times?

I know that having Wifi off completely would probably help in the long run but I have to use the internet a lot so it would be frustrating having to turn it off and on whenever I use it.

2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

Keeping it plugged in does not hurt the battery. It only charges if the charge level drops low enough. Constantly running it on battery just racks up the cycle count faster than need be. Occasionally discharging the battery a little is good but once a week is enough. The only think Li-batteries don't like is being discharged fully but even that should be prevented by the battery logic shutting the notebook off in time.

Do you have a 13" or a 15"? The 13" should be much better in battery life. The application you use also makes a big difference. Apple's pages is very nice on power draw. The broken crappy Microsoft Word for Mac is terrible. Most of the power savings come in when the cpu can go to sleep. If there is any load if a very tiny but constant one battery life is severly worse. Word with some of its processes isn't great.