Macbook Pro battery only lasting 1:35

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by techlover828, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I'm kind of freaking out:eek:, my macbook pro is for school and I need to have long battery life. I have had my macbook for two days and just calibrated the battery last night. Now my battery says it will only last 1:35. Not good! Anybody have any ideas?:confused:
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
  3. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #3
    What exactly are you doing while you're on the battery, 'cause I get about 3 or 4 on my 2.4 depending on what I'm doing. Just let it sit there running on battery, 'cause sometimes it'll lie to you. If you really get 1:35 and the MBP is relatively new and you're not doing anything intensive (lot's of open programs, connected peripherals) you should be getting it to say at least two, maybe two and a half.
     
  4. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    I have this, although it doesn't say anything, I took a bunch of screenshots, I hope they help solve the problem, thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Good work with all the screenshots.

    What kind of battery life are you getting at near idle usage? You're hitting the CPU at over 50% right now.

    What programs are you running?
     
  7. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    I'm not doing anything intensive, just websurfing. I'll wait it out to see if its lying to me, thanks for your help
     
  8. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    all I'm doing is surfing camino, I'll shut it down for a second and see the cpu usage.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    It still looks like Camino is hitting one core at 100%.

    Can you open up Activity Monitor (/Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor) and see what's using your processor?
     
  10. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #10
    1. Lower brightness
    2. Open Activity Moniter to see if anything else is using CPU space
    3. If those dont help get a new battery.
     
  11. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #11
    Thanks for all of your help, once I restarted the computer, the estimated time remaining is more reasonable, 3 hours. Got screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    That's much more normal. Were you running anything Flash or Java laden in Camino?
     
  13. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #13
    I don't think so, kind of weird, huh?
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    Well monitor your processor usage under normal usage and see if there's a process that starts to eat CPU time.
     
  15. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #15
    ok, thanks a lot for your help
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    One note, you can add a pane to iStat Pro that'll show the top processes and their processor usage. You can always just run Activity Monitor too but I'll leave that up to you.

    Resolved
     

Share This Page