Macbook Pro, Bootcamp, and Processor Power for gaming

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Professorbeej, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Professorbeej macrumors newbie

I am looking into buying a Macbook Pro (15 inch) by the end of the year. I want to buy a computer that will last me as long as possible. I'm a professor, so I will be getting the higher education discount for all this, so that helps set back the price of upgrading the processor and HDD.

The most hardware intensive applications I will be running are a few video conversion suites and various games, so that's where my question comes in. I will be using OSX for most of my day-to-day tasks, and Bootcamp Windows XP or Vista for any gaming I want to do.

The games I plan on playing are World of Warcraft (which runs native in OSX) and the upcoming Star Wars: The Old Republic, which doesn't have any set system specs, so I am assuming I will be Bootcamping it.

I'm not sure how much difference the hardware customizations will make on Windows gaming performance. Will the ~300 dollars be worth it to upgrade the processor from the 2.66 to the 2.93 gHz? And the ~50 for the faster 320gb HDD?

Also, am I making a mistake in assuming that even running Windows through Bootcamp that the Macbook Pro 15 inch will be powerful enough to run newly released online games as effectively as a comparable PC?

I've had very good luck with my iPhone and the genius bar when I have a problem, so I really want my next laptop to be an Apple; I just don't want to be shortchanging myself since a few games I know I will be running are Windows only, and I am completely ignorant of Bootcamp performance.

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Gaming is about GPU, not CPU.

You'd fare better with an upgrade from 9600M to 260M, but that isn't possible.

3. uberamd macrumors 68030

uberamd

The new 15" MBP should be fine to play the new SW game when it comes out. The cost for the faster HD is more useful than the cost for the processor speed bump.