MacBook Pro / BootCamp (screwed up)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Underoath, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Underoath macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #1
    ok, here's the deal.
    Im new to Macintosh and Leopard. I'm an old Windows user.
    I purchased a MacBook Pro (2.2ghz) in November on 2007.

    I was reading that your could install Windows XP on the MacBook using BootCamp.
    I installed Windows XP using BootCamp. Partitioned 32gb hard drive space. When I rebooted I see I have the option to boot using Leopard or Windows XP (yea!). Both worked fine.
    I couldn't get my internet to work so I loaded the drivers from the Leopard disk. I rebooted and now have internet access through Windows.

    PROBLEM: When I rebooted after I loaded the drivers I now only have one option and that's Windows XP. I no longer have the option to boot in Leopard.
    My system is showing my hard drive of 32gb.
    I've lost my Leopard Boot and hard drive space used for it.

    I just want to get rid of Windows and go straight Leopard utilizing my full hard drive, but can't even see the Leopard side.

    Looking for some help and direction, from a noob Leopard user.
    Thanks!
     
  2. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #2
    Run Boot Camp assistant again and delete the Windows partition?
     
  3. Underoath thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #3
    Do I insert the Leopard CD and launch out of Windows?
    How do I find BootCamp from the Leopard CD?
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Maybe your best bet would be to just do a clean install of leopard providing
    you have no stuff that needs backing up elsewhere just pop in your leopard
    disk & do a erase & install ,boot from disk by holding down c key

    oh and when booting up are you holding down the alt key so you have the option of which OS you
    want to boot into (providing you formated NTFS)

    And in both OS's you can set your start up OS in os x its in the system preferences
    and in windows world its a little grey diamond in the startup tray

    or control panel>performance & maintenance bootcamp icon
     
  5. digitalpencil macrumors 6502

    digitalpencil

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but you mentioned you're a new switcher; are you holding the 'alt/option' key when you reboot to bring up the bootloader screen. If so, does the bootloader appear & what options does it list? Does it just show the Windows partition?
    You can try right-clicking the boot camp assistant in the startup tray under windows and select the bootcamp control panel. From here, you should be able to specify your startup disk.
     
  6. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    When you reboot are you holding the 'option' key? If so you are not seeing the OS X drive? Try this, in Windows go to Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance and there should be a Boot Camp icon there. What shows in there for you?
     
  7. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    Sorry did i miss something or was this not explained in the above to posts?
     
  8. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #8
    When I was typing my post, the post above mine was not there. How is YOUR post helpful :rolleyes: Notice how my post and the post above mine are only 1 minute apart. Take a pill.
     
  9. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    mine is helpfull because its no different to yours,sorry but theres nothing in your post that was'nt stated in mine or the one below it or did you not read them,oh and im on lots of pills the more the better thanks:)
     
  10. Underoath thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #10
    I had not been holding down the "alt/option" button so I tried again.
    I get to a greyish screen. There is a picture of a hard drive with "Windows" under it. So, the only option I get is Windows.

    I choose Windows and booted to it.

    In windows went to Control Panel...Performance & Maintenance.
    I see no icon for Bootcamp.
    The only icons are (or pick control panel icon)...
    Adminstrative Tools.
    Scheduled Tasks
    Power Options
    System

    Last night I tried booting from my Leopard CD and received an error that stated something like "Leopard is 10.4 requires 10.5".

    Is there a way to just wipe the whole HD and reinstall?

    FYI: my computer did not come preinstalled with Leopard, but was provided a disk to upgrade into Leopard. Not sure if this is an issue.
     
  11. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #11
    That is really weird. Anyway, what I would do is boot up from the Leopard Disc, (hold the 'C' key on boot), go into Disk Utility and format the disk, this will erase everything on the disk, Choose HSF+ Journaled, then install Leopard.
     
  12. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    From the sound of it, you might have tried to erase your xp partition but you erased the OSX partition instead. You have to either wipe the whole drive, or reformat what used to be the leopard partition.

    Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard Installation and Setup Guide
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Leopard_Install-Setup.pdf
     
  13. Underoath thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #13
    Hey Consulant, thanks for your reply.
    I have not attempted to erase anything yet on my computer.
    I was always able to see the dual boot when ever I rebooted the computer.
    The problem started after I installed the drivers into Windows from the Leopard disk. I rebooted, and from then forward, there has only been one option to boot (to Windows).

    I'll try and wipe out the hard drive later tonight.
    The process will be...
    Boot up to Windows.
    Put the Leopard CD in the drive.
    Reboot while holding the "C" button.
    Go into Disk Utility.
    Choose "HSF+Journaled".
    Then install Leopard.

    Not sure what HSF+Journaled is, but I guess I'll recognize it once I come to it.
    Wish me luck!
     

Share This Page