Macbook Pro - but WHEN TO BUY?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dhcrusoe, Jul 14, 2007.

1. dhcrusoe macrumors newbie

Hey everyone!

So, there's a lot of talk about the Macbook Pro vs. Macbook - and the PRO seems like a great move (faster, bigger screen, etc) and the money isn't that much different.

But the question is, WHEN to buy it? I don't need it immediately, but soon - my 12'' powerbook battery is dying (I'm on my second battery) and I could either put the $130 toward a battery, or the money toward a new machine. I'd rather the new machine... BUT...

I know that various improvements (new OSX, etc) are in the pipeline... should I wait a few months? If so, how long? What should I wait for? Discounts == no, because I'm a student... so hardware / software == important!

Thanks for suggetions & peace!
    --Dave

2. gavd macrumors 6502a

Whenever you buy it, there will always be updates which follow so just buy it when you need it and it has the specs which meet your needs.

As long as it does what you want, then it shouldn't matter that there's a newer version out as you'll still have a quality machine which does what you need it to do.

3. jabrowntx macrumors 6502

Weren't there just recent updates to the MacBook Pro line? Technology changes so fast that if you wait....you'll always be waiting.

4. Andras5soul macrumors member

now is the best time. it wont be upgraded until spring 2007 in my opinion. if anything, the 17 inch will be upgraded to a LED screen when those become available but thats it. I got the lowend model about 3 weeks ago and its great. no problems in my opinion, the "yellow tint" people are talking about can be fixed by calibrating the screen but i didnt have a need to do that because my tint really is minor and hardly noticable. buy now and spend 129 dollars on leopard when that comes out, there will be no hardware update for leopard.

5. Chef Medeski macrumors 6502a

Chef Medeski