MacBook Pro Buying Advice - SSD? Looking for long term use

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by smitha96, Sep 15, 2010.

1. smitha96 macrumors regular

In 2006 I bought a new Mac Pro desktop with a total of four cores in it (Xeon, I believe), RAID 0 hard drives and 6GB of RAM (it now includes an upgraded 4870 for the graphics). I'm still quite happy with it and feel it still keeps up with my work load.

My work load generally consists of consumer use - I'll usually have a dozen apps open at a time, including Pages, MS Word, Safari, iPhoto, iTunes, iMovie, Quicktime. Most of my video is shot in full HD and most of my photos are 18 megapixels. While I am not a professional user and I rarely use a professional app, I think I might somewhat qualify as a "prosumer" if that makes sense.

I think my Mac Pro should last me a little while longer. In the meantime, I am interested in getting a MacBook Pro that is faster than my Mac Pro in virtually every category - additionally, I am looking for something that is still going to be able to support my higher end consumer/prosumer habits over the next several years.

I have, for the most part, already decided on getting a 17" MacBook Pro with a core i7.

My questions are:
    1) Should I go with the 7200rpm drive, stock drive, or SSD? What impact does the SSD or 7200rpm have on battery life?

2) If I do want an SSD, should I order one from a third party and install it myself? Can I install an SSD where the stock hard drive is (I might want to keep my DVD drive).

3) Can a properly configured Core i7 MacBook Pro 17" be noticably faster than my MacPro from 2006?

4) If I can hold off on my purchase, until say, April 2011, am I likely to find a four-core MacBook Pro?

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

1. SSD should increase the battery life as it has no moving parts. 7200rpm may decrease the battery life as it needs more power than 5400rpm drive