MacBook Pro Camera Delete Option?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hsvmoon, Aug 17, 2007.

1. hsvmoon macrumors newbie

I have been a powerbook software developer for a while and one of the rules of my job is no cameras in the office. I was wondering if the lack of a camera delete option means anyone else will have to switch away from mac? I fear that this is another Jobs knows better than you issue. I prefer OS X, but may have to go DELL/UBUNTU/VISTA if the option is not added. The old G4 powerbook is getting old and will be replaced inside a year. Anybody have any contacts at Apple?

2. MaddieBrad macrumors regular

MaddieBrad

3. Stephen-EXV macrumors newbie

Couldn't you pry the screen apart and take a pair of pliers to it? It doesn't seem like it would be that difficult to just yank it out, but then again i've never tried it.

4. Shorties macrumors 6502a

You probably could find some model paint from a hobby store that matches the MBP color and just paint over the lens.

5. kolax macrumors G3

You'll find that most other laptops include built-in cameras.

Stupid office if they won't let you use a notebook with one built in.

6. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster

You could use this and block it, although I didn't read enough to see if it works with a MBP.

7. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

vicious7

That link was disconcerting. Maybe I should put some tape or something over the camera. Also, I recall a security service for laptops that can patch in to your computer if its stolen and take pics of the thief remotely.

So much for privacy.

8. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

I can think of tons of places where cameras aren't allowed. Many, many places in the aerospace industry are this way.

9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe