Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stingd21

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 26, 2013
Sydney, Australia
Hello All!,

I am recently discovering the carbon fiber threads based around what Apple might possibly look into for a future unibody. I have searched until my fingers are sore, but cannot find much on aftermarket unibodies for MacBook Pros or even MacBooks for that matter.

My question:
Are there any aftermarket companies or even individuals that make a carbon fiber unibody for a Macbook?

I found a thread in the iPhone section talking about a replacement back, but nothing about a MacBook except vinyl overlays, decals, etc. It seems a bit easy to me, even though I have never worked with carbon fiber before, but from what I know you can basically make a mould for anything! I think it would not take much to buy a used unibody and send it to someone to make a mould, and the go from there?

Any input?

Sting

falconeight

Apr 6, 2010
Hello All!,

I am recently discovering the carbon fiber threads based around what Apple might possibly look into for a future unibody. I have searched until my fingers are sore, but cannot find much on aftermarket unibodies for MacBook Pros or even MacBooks for that matter.

My question:
Are there any aftermarket companies or even individuals that make a carbon fiber unibody for a Macbook?

I found a thread in the iPhone section talking about a replacement back, but nothing about a MacBook except vinyl overlays, decals, etc. It seems a bit easy to me, even though I have never worked with carbon fiber before, but from what I know you can basically make a mould for anything! I think it would not take much to buy a used unibody and send it to someone to make a mould, and the go from there?

Any input?

Sting