MacBook Pro Classic: Time for more RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fleshman03, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. fleshman03 macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #1
    View attachment 141297 Title says it all. Check out the picture. I wasn't doing much other than my normal stuff. iTunes, Mail, Safari...

    I'm asking because I know more about windows than Mac when it comes to RAM usage.

    Also, do they make 800 mhz 2gb sticks? Would those work in my early 08?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Stick with DDR2-667. DDR2-800 RAM seems to have problems downclocking.

    I'd get a 4 GB stick if you can afford it for 5 GB. 2 x 2 GB is cheap as well.
     
  3. fleshman03 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #3
    Wouldn't I run into problems with Dual Channel stuff if I did 4gb + 2gb?

    Also, why would it be needed to be down clocked? Isn't the Bus 800 mhz?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Personally I'd rather have more RAM in the two slots you have then the scant performance boost that dual channel provides.

    The chipset only supports DDR2-667 even if the front side bus is 800 MHz quad pumped.
     
  5. fleshman03 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #5
    Thanks for the quick replies. I really appreciate it.

    I'm thinking about getting the 4gb kit from OWC.

    I'm thinking that for >$10 more, the Low Latency CAS is worth it.

    And since I'm at MacRumors, I thought I'd ask. Is there any news on a 500GB HD for the 15" MBP? I'm guessing 1TB would be too much to ask for.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I've been using this RAM for 10 months now.

    500 GB is on the market now. I wouldn't open your MacBook Pro. The warranty issue on it is up in the air from time to time.
     
  7. fleshman03 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #7
    Thank you so much for the help.

    I'm going to look a little deeper at the g-skill ram.

    And I'm letting my campus computer store (Apple Care Center) to the upgrade. They'll end up charging $35/hr. Shouldn't take more than that.

    BTW- Based on that usage, it's time for more RAM - Right?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I've had 4 GB of RAM since I've owned this Macbook so I haven't seen a Page Out in ages.

    Personally I'd just go to 4 GB since it's only $54 shipped. Unless you're in dire financial straits it's pretty much a guaranteed upgrade. It was $80 when I bought my 4 GB and I thought that was dirt cheap.
     
  9. hitnrun7 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #9
    4GB is working great for me. Running VMware and alot of other intensive programs, not a single slowdown or page out. Get 4GB, i just bought Kingston RAM as it was on sale for $30/Stick...
     

Share This Page