Macbook Pro Crashes When Plugging In eGPU

gigatiggatwitter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2019
Hi, i have a 2019 MacBook Pro, with the i9 9980h and the Radeon 560x internal GPU. In an attempt to have a "one connection" desk dock, i bought a visiontek eGPU enclosure and an xfx rx 560. I am running macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Beta 18G48f (but i have also tried in the catalina beta 2 as well).

I am new to mac eGPU, but i have tested this configuration with a windows laptop and the GPU and enclosure function perfectly. When i plug the eGPU into my macbook pro, the system freezes up, then reboots. It will boot loop until i unplug the eGPU.

I do see for a moment the GPU title bar icon appear, before the machine blacks out and reboots. I have tried making sure that my system start up security is set to the least secure options, to avoid any conflicts, and i have also tried disabling system integrity protection and the problem stays the same.

According to visiontek this egpu enclosure is supported by macOS. I am seeing after some googling that apple removed the RX 560 from their support, but then added it back. I'm not sure if i'm running into a naming issue since the macbook pro has a built in rx 560, but i can't imagine thats the issue.

The fans momentarily spin up (half a second or so) before the system reboots. The machine does report it was rebooted due to an error, but the contents of the error are illegible. It seems like the text is encrypted, that kind of illegible.

Does anyone have any ideas of things i can try?

Thank you

Howard2k

macrumors 68030
Mar 10, 2016
You should expect some instability on Beta versions. Have you tried using a standard release?

gigatiggatwitter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2019
Yeah, i wouldn't call this instability though, it just straight up doesn't work at all. 100% of the time, plug in the eGPU, boom. Machine reboots.

gigatiggatwitter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2019