MacBook Pro crashing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rpdaddy, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. rpdaddy, Apr 3, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014

    rpdaddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #1
    I'm a newbie to Mac, can anyone help?
    Sorry, I tried uploading a screenshot but I keep getting errors.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Make a screenshot and attach it to your next post the way I linked to.

    Or simply select the text and copy it into your next post.
     
  3. rpdaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #3
    My daughters laptop

    She sent me a picture on my iphone and I uploaded from there. I see here that it looks like it came through?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    It is iTunes crashing. Does it happen every time? If so, go to Finder, click the GO menu in the Menu Bar, hold down the Option/Alt key, click Library, then in the new Finder window go to the folder called Preferences, open it and find the file called com.apple.iTunes.plist and delete it. It is preferences file, it does not delete any data, only settings. Try opening iTunes again.
    Sometimes that can help.

    Here is the report for people in the know:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. rpdaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #5
    I knew this was ITunes , appears to be any program Internet related. Office seems to stay up. Safari crashes as well.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Sorry, but as you only posted a report for iTunes and did not mention other applications crashing and did not provide further information, we cannot simply guess what is happening.

    Tell your daughter to back her data up and let her know how to reinstall Mac OS X via clean install or just normally without deleting stuff but repairing it.
     
  7. rpdaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #7
    Thanks for the response . I had told her I expected to have to restore but was hoping for a different solution
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    She could always try the PLIST delete procedure before doing a restore.
    The PLIST files always have the name of the application in their name.
    Another option would be to try a different user account, even if newly created. If that does work, the issue is account related.

    But since there is an intermediary, you, it is hard to troubleshoot. Maybe make her register here and post in this thread to let us help her?
     

Share This Page