Macbook pro decision -- HELP REQUESTED

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by riggatoney, Dec 12, 2010.

1. riggatoney macrumors newbie

Hello,
    I am a Web administrator for a community college and do freelance work on the side. Currently I own a 2010 macbook pro 13.3 with 8gb of ram. A professor has come into my office and offered to buy my current MBP for $1050 (with the original 4gb of ram in it). I feel like I have to sell it, due to the trouble I have working in CS5 on such a low resolution.

I (like many of you) have a problem when it comes to macbooks, I always want the newest ones and have had over 20 macbooks in the past 2 years.

I am trying to decide which machine I should upgrade too, I have a feeling that $1050 for my machine, I will NEVER get an offer like this again and want to take advantage of it.

I am not sure what to do, I would prefer to have the high-resolution matte screen but once configured its a mere $50 difference between 15 and 17inch macbook pros.

I would just get a 27inch imac, but I require the portability so I am not sure which machine I should get. Please let me know of any advice or insight anyone may have.

2. harcosparky macrumors 68020

I'd love to help you but I feel I am in no way qualified in that field.

But I can do math ....

20 Macbooks in 24 months ( 2 years ) = .833333333 Macbooks per month

Maybe those figures can help point you in the right direction!

3. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09

you could keep the MBP and buy yourself the 27 inch imac? so you have a home orrr you can get a 15" MBP- giving you better screen, processor,and portability. the 17" is way to heavy.. but once again- what are your configs. maybe someone can show you what to add and what not to add, etc.

4. snaky69 macrumors 603

How about just buying an external screen? Ever thought of that?

5. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09

genius simply genius.. forgot to say that so:
    + infinity

6. riggatoney thread starter macrumors newbie