MacBook Pro doubts: staingate, video editing performance, cost.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dddppp, Sep 9, 2015.

1. dddppp, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

dddppp macrumors newbie

Dear All,

Who I am:
    I am an iOS developer and as such I need a Mac to develop apps. I have currently a MacBook Air 13" late 2011 and I am quiet happy with it. However the warranty is expired and I would like to sell it and replace it with a newer model (MacBook Pro 13"). One of the reasons for doing so is that I am interested in doing some video editing (hobby level) and pharaohs work on some content for a YouTube channel.

Video editing performance concerns:

I have seen several reviews of the graphical card Intel Iris 6100 and the card seems to perform poorly compared to the latest generation Nvidia on latest generation games. I am wondering how the card performs on video editing. Any YouTube out there using it? Is it any good for video editing? The performance difference between the i5 processor and the i7 seems to be significant so I would be choosing the i7 processor.

What I am MOST concerned about is: StainGate

The StaingGate effect that seems to appear on some users screens after a while and the fact that some of these users have reported that Apple is not replacing the screens affected by it even if users have a valid Apple care program. I am not sure if this is true so please don't quote me on this but as far as I can read on the following websites this seems to be the case:

- http://www.staingate.org
    - Petition on Change.org

Cost:

Paying a premium price for a MacBook Pro and Apple care and not being sure about the StainGate issue is really putting me off by buying it. Also I am not sure about the video editing performance.. seems quiet poor but I am not sure about this. I would benefit from your opinion on this.

Decision I need help with: