Macbook pro early 2011 Heat and Fan issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by msongsfs, Mar 31, 2014.

1. msongsfs macrumors newbie

Hello all. This is my first time signing up for Macrumors so just bear with me.:D

My mac has been really hot and noisy these days. When playing games (minecraft, League of legends), I always have this awful fan noise running at 6200Rpm. My friends all have the same mac but they don't even make a sound when they play games. During class, only my computer is loud and it embarrasses me. I never had a overheat shutdown before though. Why am I targeted with this problem?

I've tried almost everything I could find. Some of them are listed here:
    SMC reset
    PRAM reset
    Cleaning dust inside
    Getting fan control apps
    quitting intense apps when playing
    activity monitor
    Freeing up space (freed up almost 100 gb)
    Virus scan (2 viruses, deleted them (clamxav))

Don't want to give my mac to them as I heard they do nothing to help.:(

I would very much appreciate it if you could reply anything that would help me. Please don't be like, "theres nothing you can do about it. Deal with it," because I kinda already know that.

Thank you! :D

Computer specs:

MacBook Pro
    13-inch, Early 2011
    Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB
    Software OS X 10.9.2 (13C64)
    320GB sata disk

I might be getting a ram upgrade from 4gb to 8gb. Is it worth it?

2. Kariya macrumors 68000

Kariya

3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

RAM upgrade + SSD. With an SSD your Mac will boot up in 11 seconds and also have instant app launching.

An SSD is the best performance upgrade you can give to it.

----------

There's no dGPU in the 13" 2011 MBPs, so Radeongate won't hit it and hence, reapplying the thermal paste isn't necessary.

4. msongsfs thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you all for your cooperation! :D