MacBook Pro early 2011

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mythree, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. mythree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    #1
    Got a 17 inch MacBook Pro 2.2, i7 - want to change out the RAM had 8GB which went bad (Corsair JUNK) ...

    Question: - although this set says max 8GB I was told it will take and operate with 16 - if so what's the recommendations on good Memory don't want to deal with junk memory again, wasting good money after bad ...?
     
  2. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #2
    I used Crucial memory. I have an early 2011 15" MBP, and upgraded to 16GB about a year ago and have had no issues.
     
  3. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #3
    You can put 16GB into the Sandy Bridge machines. Corsair is decent memory. All manufacturers let bad sticks get out there, and usually they are bad from the beginning which is why it'll be important to test your new sticks, whatever brand you buy.

    >
     
  4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    I've used just about every brand of RAM you can imagine in my computers over the years. The only ones to give trouble were Komputerbay (cheap junk sold on Amazon) and Corsair. I trust Corsair about as far as I can throw them.

    Stick with Crucial, and you'll be fine.
     
  5. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Crucial if you want to be sure.
    I have been using Corsair memory for several years and havent had any problem.
     
  6. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #6
    I have 16gb of ram from Corsair that I put in my early 2011 macbook pro 13', no problems thus far.
     
  7. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #7
    I have two Crucial CT102464BF1339 in the same MBP model. This module uses more efficient semiconductors (runs cooler) and supports 1.35 V and 1.5 V. No problems here (tested with Apple Hardware Test).
     
  8. lagisibuk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Always Somewhere
    #8
    I have using 16GB with crucial...
    for corsair just 8GB my experience
     
  9. realtwang macrumors member

    realtwang

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #9
    I have 16GB of ram in my early 2011 17" Quad core i7. Use Crucial or Kingston only. I'm partial to Crucial because of their great support. And lifetime warranty.
     

Share This Page