MacBook Pro & FALLOUT 3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JReynolds, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #1
    So I'm getting extremely bored at the fire station during my 24hr shift. I decided I want to play fallout 3. Only problem is it only runs on windows. I have a 13" MBP 2.26 ghz mid 2009 with 4GB RAM. Its running windows xp, vista, and W7RC using VMWare fusion.

    Is my MBP capable of running FALLOUT 3 with good settings? Do I have a good enough graphics card or whatever I need? I don't know anything about computer gaming...:confused:

    Thanks for the help in advance.
    Josh
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    what GPU does it have?? 9400M? that is not really enough to play fallout3.

    games are NOT meant to be played on VMWare, so that rules that out.


    the game would run ok..if u have the 9600M then they would be playable on mid settings.
     
  3. JReynolds thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #3
    It has the NVIDIA GeForce 9400M. Would it work using Parallels 4? I don't wanna play it if it's gonna be garbage looking.

    Is there anyway to upgrade my MBP or do anything to make it more "Game Friendly"

    I don't know if my mac is the problem or if it's a VMWare thing...
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    firstly: virtual machines (VMWare, parallels etc) ARE NOT for playing games. they are for simple non-3D programs such as word, office, light photoshopping etc. the resources are too limited.

    2ndly: i think your machine is limited by the 9400M, it would be struggling to play it.

    to play the games you would need to install bootcamp.
     
  5. JReynolds thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #5
    Alright so instead of running VMWare or Parallels just use bootcamp... I can do that.

    But my 9400M is still not going to cut it huh...Dang

    Are there any upgrade options for MPB's in the GPU department?
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    it COULD run it, would be hit and run.

    there are no possible upgrades that you can do to the MBP: the GPU is a chip on the motherboard and cannot be modified. sorry :(
     
  7. JReynolds thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #7
    Hmm...I'll probably just save my money!

    Thanks a lot for all the good info. I appreciate it.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    yup you might have to invest in a 15" MBP with a 9400/9600 combination or something..

    thats ok feel free to ask away if you need to :)
     
  9. Nocturnal22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #9
    you guys obviously havent tried it huh... I played it and beat the game on a 2.0ghz uMB with 2gb of RAM it ran pretty dam well and didnt look all that bad it looked better than i expected on medium settings. So i say go for it its a great game and it is very playable on a 13 uMBP.
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    seeing as though i dont have a computer with a 9400M - no i cant try it.

    my 8500GT struggles to play it, so i figured an on-board would struggle too.

    i guess our definition of "playable" is different. do you know FPS rates?
     
  11. Nocturnal22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #11
    oh the 9400m is very capable it even plays Gears of war and almost almost rivals how it looks on 360 obviously the frames are lower but i was pleasantly surprised none the less and on Fallout 3 i dont know how to check but from just looking it looks like anywhere from 15-30 the only place where it really kinda struggled was in the city on the boat i forgot what it was called but whatever and that was only cause there is like 20 ppl moving around in that place but you dont spend to much time in there anyways and its toward the end of the game and i know playable is diff to everyone which is why i said very playable emphasis on very.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    ok fair call, i would consider anything below 30FPS unplayable - but that is just me...
     
  13. Nocturnal22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #13
    here check this out its not a 13" uMBP but basically the same specs and resolution i use. its a mac mini 2.0ghz 2gb RAM 9400m Doesnt really show to much action though go to around the 4 min mark to see how it looks in the outside world

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRWvbyg7Li0
     
  14. iPoTmon macrumors newbie

    iPoTmon

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #14
    it could run but ive seen a video on youtube and its like realllllllllllllllly laggy
     
  15. Nocturnal22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #15
    no not really look at what i just posted...
     
  16. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #16
    Well theres not much you can do for upgrades at this point because the GPU is the limiting factor, but at low/medium settings it should be playable.
     

Share This Page