MacBook Pro firmware update

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mac Pro 5GB, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. Mac Pro 5GB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    I just installed the 1.3 MacBook Pro firmware update. No problems so far. Supposed to address display issues.
     
  2. MidiMonk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    Same here, no issues yet.

    EDIT: booted into WinXP no issues here as well
     
  3. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #3
    hee just been looking for any feedback on it myself. Very slight yellow on this MPB SR using default profile, I'll switch back, install and see if it improves.
     
  4. maxmax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    #4
    working fine here. curious what it fixed. i can't tell if the colors look a little better with the default "color lcd" profile or if i'm just imagining things.
     
  5. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #5
    looks the same to me. Prefer my profile. Ah well.:confused:
     
  6. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    Well I had a perfect MBP SR screen until updating the firmware that is supposed to fix problems. Now I have waves that run up my screen. I guess this might be the flickering problem that others have been talking about, but it does not look like flickering to me. It looks like horizontal waves running up my screen.

    I think I saw something on Apples site about another firmware update to roll back from this one. Gonna go see if I can find that.

    Edited:

    Actually the firmware restore is only for failed firmware updates. So it does not appear that I can revert back to the previous firmware update. I have had a perfect MBP SR until now. I guess the good thing is that it has to be a firmware issue so it should be fixed at some point. I guess I will be calling Apple tomorrow just to document my issue.


    Edited Again:

    Well I just found another problem with this update. Before I was using a very dark desktop picture. So when I noticed the rolling of my screen, I changed my desktop picture to a lighter color to see if I could see it any better (in case I go to the Apple Store tomorrow). Well, I could see it a little better using solid colored lighter desktop pics. The new problem is that when I went to go back to my normal dark desktop picture, the left side of my screen kept the previous background. It looks like about a 1 pixel wide portion of my left screen does not change over.

    I changed the DT pic again and it keeps the previous picture on the left (again about 1 pixel wide all the way down the left of my screen).
     
  7. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #7
    This may not be due to the firmware update. If your DT pic is the same resolution as your MBP's native resolution, make sure the pic isn't set to "stretch to fill screen" or "fill screen". Use "center" setting instead and see if the 1-pixel line doesn't magically disappear.
     
  8. polycat33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #8
    Are you saying you lost your custom profile when you installed this?

    Wow, I am TERRIFIED of this update now because of Jestered's problems. I finally got my display calibrated to what seems like perfect and I see no reason to do anything since I don't feel I need a fix and I certain don't need problems when there are none!! If it ain't broke, don't fix it...
     
  9. MidiMonk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    Just another update a few hours later everything still seems good for me at least on both 10.4.10/WinXP home.

    YMMV and it does seem some are having troubles.
     
  10. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #10
    Sorry didn't make myself clear. I just switched to the default 'yellow-white' profile before i updated. Then updated EFI, no difference really. I didn't lose my calibrated profile btw. Glad I didn't read Jesters post before I updated though, although I would have still gone ahead.:):)
     

Share This Page