Macbook Pro flash lags like hell!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by youss, May 1, 2011.

  1. youss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #1
    Hello.

    When im using the internet, and the browser uses adobe flash it starts to lag as hell and use 100% of my CPU %.

    I've tried uninstalling, i've tried using Adobe flash player "SQUARE"
    I've tried installing version 9 - the latest version etc.

    what can i do?

    oh i've also "Repaired disk" in disk utility
     
  2. haruhiko macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #2
    The newest flash player 10.2 from adobe should be the best.
     
  3. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #3
    I'm sure it is, why would they make the newest version worse then the previous ones?

    I've tried the newest one, it still lags like hell.
     
  4. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #4
    flash suck on mac, known fact.

    Jobs refuses to do anything about it cause he says flash is not the future and Adobe refuses to go out of business. so, not really much you can do about it unfortunately.
     
  5. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #6
    I'm telling you there is something i can do, i just havn't figured out what yet.

    It just started a week ago. My process is up to 100-120% of my CPU Usage.
    Tell me - is your macbook pro using 100-120% of ur CPU when u load adobe flash player in a browser?

    I know my 15" MacBook Pro isnt, or my 27" iMac - but my 13" lags like HELL.
    Now i might be able to go in and delete some old cache/adobe flash registry or something - but does anybody have an idea to what that could be?

    I've installed all my firefox addons etc. and it still lags like hell.
     
  6. mape2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Have you tried Safari? Same results?

    One other thing: Maximum CPU usage is 100%, right?
     
  7. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #8

    I've tried safari - exact same result.
    Maximum CPU usage should be 100% but i guess the whole dual-core thing makes it higher then 100%? but i guess that doesnt really matter - cpu usage is skyhigh and i cant even move my mouse.
     
  8. mape2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Depends on how you define it, usually its 25% for one core fully loaded = 100% all 4 cores. But thats not the point of this thread (just wanted to correct you :p)

    I don't think this is normal behavior, I've never owned a 13" model but so far I didn't read about them not being able to play flash. I am sure someone would have already complained about this. Which flash application are you talking about? Does it happen with one specific page or is it any flash application?
     
  9. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #10
    it worked perfectly a week ago. its all apps, even side banners on various websites
     
  10. mape2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    than I would start to backtrack and see what I did since the last week. Got a backup that you could restore from?
     
  11. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #12
    cant figure out what it could be
    and i dont have backup, sorry.


    anybody have a way i can fix this?
     
  12. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #13
    I really like flash. Its super fast on my new MBP with 8GB.

    Be sure you're running the newest version of flash and you'll be fine.
     
  13. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #14
    READ MY DAMN POST!

    i have tried the latest version - if you have nothing helpful to say, then dont.
     
  14. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #15
    this is a good way to not get any help.
     
  15. thermodynamic Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Agreed.

    There might be a lot of gunk in the browser's cache as well - a full cleanup might help.

    And disabling all the flash ads doesn't hurt.

    I like Flash, Flash 5.5 will export Flash games to objective-C and be compatible for iDevices in Apple's app store (YIPPIE, THANK YOU!!! :D ), but Flash ads are often poorly programmed and don't clean up after themselves. I try to block them, but I worry that HTML5-based ads won't be so easily turned off... :(
     
  16. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #17
    agreed, but not reading the first post in the topic and replying is a stupid way of being a jerk
     
  17. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #18

    i will try that asap
     
  18. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
  19. Jakeblu, May 1, 2011
    Last edited: May 2, 2011

    Jakeblu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    The only link I could find to flash 5.5 was a torrent and not sure it would still be live.

    Not sure why an older version would work better though. I have found that the newer version is pretty much the best on my 2010 i5 Below is a screen shot showing istat while running a 1080 vid on youtube its showing cpu at 7%

    [​IMG]

    You will notice I also have PS5 & Aperture3 open as well.

    I am not showing that to be a smart ass but rather to point out that the new version of flash is pretty efficient. So basically what I am trying to say is I dont think its flash but rather something with your Mac thats the problem :)
     
  20. youss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #21
    thank you for your post.

    Adobe Flash 5 i cannot really use, after most flash stuff on the internet requires version +10

    I've tryed clearing my cache in "CleanMyMac" and it is still really slow.
    Is there a way that i can clean all my registrys?
     
  21. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #22
    It would be helpful if you posted Mac OS version and which machine you have to make it easier for us to reproduce your problems.
     
  22. nickc25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #23
    Mine is really bad too. Getting over 100% cpu usage. I have a virtually brand new Macbook Pro 15" I7 but on things like flash games it is just terrible and unplayable due to it stuttering.

    I bought a mac because I have heard so much about them being much better for photoshop / dreamweaver and all the other things such as video editing.

    I have an SSD drive and it is very quick, but on flash games it is just poor.
     
  23. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #24
    The new flash is probably using your GPU for almost everything on the pre-2011 MBP. With the new ones, it's probably not yet able to use the GPU at all. It's probably all CPU decoding.
     
  24. Jakeblu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    I had heard that the new flash verson used the GPU but wasnt aware it couldn't use the GPU on the 2011 MBP. That would of course explain why CPU usage is at a max.
     

Share This Page