Macbook Pro for College Student

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mac0824, Mar 12, 2018.

1. Mac0824, Mar 12, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018

Mac0824 macrumors newbie

I am currently a senior in high school and am looking into getting a macbook pro for college. I have recently been using a slightly upgraded 2012 non retina mbp (not mine, family laptop) and want to buy a newer one for college. I carry this one with me every day in my backpack, and weight and portability are not a huge issue. I'm majoring in Biochem, and will likely be using excel a lot. We have an iMac that I use for all my big projects just because of the extra space, and really like being able to use all that space. This caused me to question whether I should be looking into a 15 inch pro. I'm planning on buying a 2015 because the new mbp's do not appeal to me at all, and am looking at the refurbished models from apple. Are these models generally reliable or will they be more run down and die faster? Basically I need advice on what to prioritize when looking through refurbished laptops, advice on 15 vs 13 inch for college, and if anyone has experience with buying apple refurbished products I would greatly appreciate some insight into the quality. Thanks!
    EDIT: I also might want to dual boot because I know many programs in medicine only run on windows. Never done this before and not sure what the performance requirements for this are.

2. makinao macrumors regular

I can't comment on the 2015 models because I dont have one. But I will say that the only thing lacking with a refurb is the box and packaging. But functionally, they are good as new and come with the same warranty.

3. Mac0824 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for that, I will definitely be going for a refurbished mbp then. I just need something that will hopefully last the next 6-8 years so I don't have to deal with upgrading while i'm broke.

4. jerryk macrumors 68040