Macbook Pro for music

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trickyvic, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. trickyvic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    About to take the plunge and buy my first laptop (currently have a G5 PPC imac.) I'm planning on using Logic 9, Garageband and Sibelius, and recording live instruments. It will be my main computer, and will be moved about a fair bit.

    I'm going for a Macbook Pro since Apple decided to remove the Firewire ports from the Macbooks.

    Any thoughts on minimum spec? I can't decide whether to go for 13" or 15" - and would appreciate any ideas on what extras are really worth the additional cash (I haven't got an unlimited budget.)

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    Speaking from experience, using Logic on a 13" screen is less than spectacular.

    If I were you , I would get the base 15" with the upgraded 1680x1050 screen and a 7200 RPM hard drive. Logic will be very manageable at this resolution, and the faster hard drive will let you record/playback more simultaneous tracks without choking.

    What kind of interface will you be using, out of curiosity?
     
  3. trickyvic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Thanks Capt.

    I'm still deciding on the interface - the Presonus Firestudio Mobile is looking very tempting. Also thinking of the Focusrite Saffire Pro 24. Need to break out of my state of indecision paralysis!

    I was also thinking of getting a large display monitor (esp. if I end up going for the 13"), but can't afford to do it all at once. It's all adding up . . .
     
  4. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    An external display would certainly make the 13" more viable. I've got a 20" display that I connect to my macbook when I want to do real work.
     
  5. trickyvic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    It's frustrating that the 13" can't be upgraded to 7200rpm. Do you reckon 5400rpm will just be too creaky? Or bearable?
     
  6. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    upgrade it yourself, it's a simple process
     
  7. trickyvic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I guess so! Although I'm not very good at these things, and for the amount of money I'm about to splash out would like to get it set up so I don't have do any messing about. But thanks for the suggestion.
     

Share This Page