Macbook Pro for System|Network Administrator

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 4kusnik, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. 4kusnik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys.

    At the moment I use 14" Asus laptop for the following tasks:
    - Internet browsing
    - pdf files reading
    - vmware workstation network emulating
    - several applications for remote connection such as RDP, Telnet, SSH.
    - other tools related to Windows administration

    On my current laptop I feel that I need much more display space and 1366x768 resolution is extremely insufficient. If MBPR 13" with 2560х1600 will be released it would be great, BUT, will I be able to run all the Windows applications on Macbook Pro? (if yes, then how exactly it would be possible?)

    I would like to move on macbook (macbook and not mac os) but Windows software availability (for system/network administration) is of great importance.
     
  2. 4kusnik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #2
    Is there anybody who successfully use Macbook in Windows System|Network administration field?
     
  3. RealEyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #3
    You can use BootCamp to install any Windows on your Mac. You might want that thunderbolt to ethernet cable adapter if you're going to plug into different networks.
     
  4. apparition47 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Running Windows programs won't be a problem in BootCamp or through a VM (via Parallels, Fusion).

    We had a few MacBook Pros in our office for our work on BootCamp and we did RDP, SSH connections, serial connections through PuTTy, vSphere client just fine. A lot of our network monitoring programs we ran in VMs that are front-ended through a web interface so we could just open a browser to work. Worked just like any Windows laptop.
     
  5. 0x000000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #5
    Unless you run Windows in BootCamp and manually set the resolution to 2560, don't be mistaken about the 12" rMBP's screen estate: In osx it is in fact only the screen estate of a 1280x800 display!

    You can switch the effective resolution to 1440, 1680 or 1920px and your screen may in fact still look better compared to a display that supports those resolutions natively; but performance may suffer (though not clear how noticable, if noticable at all) and it's clearly not "perfect".
     
  6. AppleMacFinder macrumors 6502a

    AppleMacFinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #6
    Possibly, the Virtual Machine will be a lot better choice.
    You can switch from Mac to Windows and back with one simple gesture,
    and it's CPU performance is only 5% slower (tested by myself on Parallels).

    The only problem is that you have to buy a memory upgrade, because VM will eat half of your RAM.
     

Share This Page