Macbook Pro for university studies

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GeorgeGee, Oct 2, 2014.

1. GeorgeGee macrumors newbie

My situation:
    I'm a Computer Science student and I'm looking to get a Macbook Pro.
    I am unsure whether to get the 13" Retina or the 15" Retina.

What I'll be using it for (in order of how demanding I expect them to be):
    • running virtual machine(s) (only one at a time)
    • running IDEs, text editors, compilers
    • making notes in lectures
    It's worth noting that I'll be using a virtual machine and IDEs/compilers at the same time.

My problem:
    • I'm unsure whether I will really make use of a quad core (15"), but I'm unsure whether a dual core (13") will really cut it.
    • I'm unsure if 8GB of RAM will be enough for when I'm running a Virtual Machine (with IDEs/compilers at the same time).
    • I want it to last for my entire studies and a bit after that, so I want it to be future-proof.

:)

2. awests macrumors regular

I can't speak on the VM requirements, but I also have a 15" MBP (early 2011) and it just is too big for large study hall desks. So much that its too big to take notes on during lectures.

3. GeorgeGee thread starter macrumors newbie

I have friends with the 15" (2013) and they get along just fine at my university, so that's not a factor I'm considering, thanks though :)

4. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68020

MuGeN PoWeR

i am also in the same situation as yours. also a CS student and also looking to buy a MBP. just confused whether to buy a 13.3 retina or a little used/refurbished 15.4 i think 15.4 is too big.

5. Striker-UMB, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
  6. leman macrumors 604

The 13" with 8GB will be absolutely sufficient for your described needs. However, the 15" is likely to be faster and smoother.

7. brroy macrumors newbie