Macbook Pro for web developer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dsgnr, Nov 21, 2015.

1. dsgnr macrumors member

Hi everyone,
    I currently have a mid-2010 white unibody macbook - 2.4ghz core 2 duo, 256GB SSD and 8GB RAM. This Macbook has been great for me and never missed a beat. I'm afraid it's now starting to show it's age and I am now looking at a new Macbook.

I am a web developer so most common tasks are various web browsers, Coda2, Terminal for Git and SSH etc, MAMP or Vagrant (running CentOS for local development), sometimes Parallels Desktop running XP but that doesn't need to be fast as it's quite rare I use this now. Also quite a lot of Adobe CS work, in particular Illustrator and Photoshop for designing logos, occasional leaflets/brochures etc and of course websites.

My Macbook now struggles with basic tasks like browsing the net and Photoshop actions are now painfully slow.

I am considering a new 15" MacBook Pro Retina (I need the portability otherwise I'd be going for an iMac). Obviously they all come with 16GB RAM as standard (Are these definitely now soldered onto the logic board so they can't be updated later?) and SSD's.

I just can't decide whether to go for the normal 15" MacBook Pro or whether it's worth the extra few hundred pounds to go for the Radeon Graphics over the Iris. I also can't decide whether I'd feel the difference between the 2.2Ghz, 2.5Ghz or even the 2.8Ghz.

I'm sure whatever I will get will be a massive leap in performance over my unibody but as I only buy a new computer when I need it, I want to make the right decision.

I can understand that the uprated graphics may be better for Photoshop but is it really worth the extra outlay? The most extensive task in Photoshop I'll do is bulk image saving for web. Sometimes only a few hundreds but can go into thousands of images which definitely makes the laptop show it's age.

Any advise would be great.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member