MacBook Pro - Freezing during use

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Photog88, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Photog88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    My macbook pro sometimes freezes while I use it. I don't know much about computers, so I did a little google research and found that using Disk Utility may help find a solution to the problem. When the laptop freezes nothing gets the machine to turn off except for when I hold down the power button. When the laptop begins again, I am asked to 'Restart the Computer' [I will try to photograph this], and I must do this several times before the machine starts back up.

    When the laptop does start back up, the computer recognizes there was a problem and generates a report. I will copy and paste that here next time I see it.

    Here are some screen shots while the keyboard still responded:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Disk Utility generated about four different errors the first time I ran it, but none on the second trial.
     
  2. Photog88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #2
    I also have a meeting with the Genius Bar on Wednesday hoping they can help.
     
  3. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #3
    What was in those reports it generated? Can you post them?
     
  4. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #4
    We need to see that report, on first assumptions i'd say its a RAM or Graphics Card error, does it happen when your using the 9400M or the 9600M graphics card? (battery saver or hi performance power settings)?
     
  5. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #5
    I'm also experiencing a freeze, but the screen looks good, my problem is that neither the keyboard nor the mouse response. Even if I press the power button I get the screen options to reboot, cancel, or shut down, but since my keyboard/mouse are not responding, I have to keep it pressed so it turns off.

    if I plug an external keyboard/mouse, I do see those external devices, but not the built in mouse/keyboard.
     
  6. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #6
    Yours is a RAM problem, take it to the Apple store, they'll run some tests, replace your RAM on the spot for free as long as its still under warranty or apple care. You wont loose any data so dont worry.
     
  7. damado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #7
    Mine locks up after about an hour of playing WoW and have to hold down the power button to restart it. I can't take it to the genius bar and have them play for an hour to reproduce the problem though =(
     
  8. Photog88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #8
    Problem Details Report

    It crashed again last night. Here is the 'Problem Details' Report it generated:

    Tue Jan 6 14:38:35 2009
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x00405DEB): "NVRM: Read Error: GPU 0, PCI 0x00000100, BAR0 0x92000000 0x3c8bc000"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1228.9.59/iokit/Kernel/IOLib.cpp:724
    Backtrace (CPU 0), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x3c477c48 : 0x12b4f3 (0x45b13c 0x3c477c7c 0x1335e4 0x0)
    0x3c477c98 : 0x405deb (0x49da40 0xd75280 0x3c477cdc 0x3c477ccc)
    0x3c477cb8 : 0xb464f7 (0xd75280 0xd75280 0xd39c88 0x0)
    0x3c477cf8 : 0xdfdd1a (0x4ae2004 0x4cb4804 0x100 0x7fffffff)
    0x3c477d38 : 0xe17e7e (0x4cb4804 0x100 0xb 0x0)
    0x3c477e88 : 0xc9c16f (0x4cb4804 0x49ce404 0x0 0x0)
    0x3c477ed8 : 0xb469b6 (0x4cb4804 0x49ce404 0x0 0x0)
    0x3c477f18 : 0x4224ff (0x0 0x4d62700 0x1 0x19eb5b)
    0x3c477f68 : 0x42165c (0x4d62700 0x43f5454 0x43f542c 0x136e3e)
    0x3c477f98 : 0x42133e (0x46b4c00 0x0 0x3c477fc8 0x1a8ddc)
    0x3c477fc8 : 0x1a017c (0x46b4c00 0x0 0x1a30b5 0x43f5410)
    Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.nvidia.nv50hal(5.3.6)@0xd8a000->0xfdefff
    dependency: com.apple.NVDAResman(5.3.6)@0xb2d000
    com.apple.NVDAResman(5.3.6)@0xb2d000->0xd89fff
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(1.7.1)@0xb1f000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.5)@0x5d2000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(1.7.1)@0xae4000

    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task

    Mac OS version:
    9G55

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.6.0: Mon Nov 24 17:37:00 PST 2008; root:xnu-1228.9.59~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacBookPro3,1 (Mac-F4238BC8)


    System Configuration:

    Model: MacBookPro3,1, BootROM MBP31.0070.B07, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.2 GHz, 2 GB
    Graphics: GeForce 8600M GT, GeForce 8600M GT, spdisplays_pcie_device, 128 MB
    Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 1 GB, DDR2 SDRAM, 667 MHz
    Memory Module: BANK 1/DIMM1, 1 GB, DDR2 SDRAM, 667 MHz
    AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x168C, 0x87), 1.4.8.0
    Bluetooth: Version 2.1.3f8, 2 service, 0 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
    Network Service: AirPort, AirPort, en1
    PCI Card: pci168c,24, sppci_othernetwork, PCI Slot 5
    Serial ATA Device: FUJITSU MHW2120BH, 111.79 GB
    Parallel ATA Device: MATSHITADVD-R UJ-857E
    USB Device: Built-in iSight, (null) mA
    USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, (null) mA
    USB Device: IR Receiver, (null) mA
    USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, (null) mA
     
  9. Photog88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #9
    My mac has gotten to the point now where I can't even get to the OS. I press the power button to turn it on, then the screen goes gray with a box that says, "please restart".
     
  10. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #10
    will do as soon as I return home to the states. It has happened maybe 4 times in the past 4 months or so.
     
  11. johnmartin78 macrumors regular

    johnmartin78

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    My MBP is doing the exact same thing after playing WoW for an hour or so,my keyboard and mouse stop working and I have to hard reset.I've already had one of my fans replaced in this laptop.Not to mention that if i don't run fancontrol while playing WoW my cpu will get up to 109 degrees Celsius.I am not happy with the new mbp's,at least mine.I wish I never got rid of my old one.
     

Share This Page