MacBook Pro Fresh Install

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Pedro Pinto, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. Pedro Pinto macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I got a rMBP (Early 2015) and I would like to make a fresh macOS install.

    Can you guys help me out with it?

    Thankfully,

    Pedro
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Hold CMD + R on startup. This will boot into macOS Utilities.

    Select Disk Utility. Erase Macintosh HD or whatever your OS volume is called (the bottom of the two partitions listed). Format as macOS Extended (Journaled) in the GUID partition map.

    Close Disk Utility. Select "Reinstall macOS". Enter your Apple ID & password to validate (the one you used to originally download Sierra). It'll then download and reinstall macOS. Job done.
     
  3. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #3
    Thank you for the response @keysofanxiety.

    All my documents are stored in iCloud Drive. Although I've a backup of it, could I access them after that formatting method?
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Yep
     
  5. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #5
    I've done it already @keysofanxiety. However, in iCloud Documents folder I have nothing and all my documents were there. Does it take a little to upload?
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Have you signed into iCloud through System Preferences?
     
  7. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #7
    Yes I did. Strangely I now got 2 folders named documents and I only saw the first one which is empty. But the other one has my documents :)

    In the beginning it asked to me if I wanted to put documents and desktop folders in iCloud and said yes. However, there are 2 documents' folders now. Should I delete one of them?
     
  8. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #8
    @keysofanxiety after a fresh macOS install, I can't send iMessages through my MBP. It says that the phone number (I'm sending message to) is not registered with iMessage. I've turned it off and on again it still doesn't work. Can you give me a hand?
     
  9. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    Hi Pedro,

    Apologies for my belated reply. I very much read your messages and forgot to respond.

    This is a bit tricky with the documents folders and iMessage. Likely just a little sync issue in both cases but nothing major; regardless, I'd hold off on deleting anything. It's worth restarting your Mac with reopen windows unchecked & try a PRAM reset. Also ensure the OS is up to date through the App Store.

    For iMessage you can try signing in and out. Also double check you've got the same account set up; verify this against the iMessage settings on your iOS device. Can't hurt to remove & re-add if signing in/out doesn't do it.

    Apologies again for keeping you waiting.
     
  10. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #10
    It's all ok about the delay @keysofanxiety. I actually have tried everything you've mentioned about ticking on/off everything.

    I just didn't understand the PRAM reset thing or NVRAM reset. I read something about it but I don't know the methods by heart.
     
  11. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #11
    Turn off the Mac, hold CMD + ALT + P + R as soon as you've pressed the power button to turn it back on. Hold until you hear the Apple boot chime 3 times, then let go
     
  12. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
  13. Pedro Pinto thread starter macrumors member

    Pedro Pinto

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Viseu
    #13
    I'm sorry for bothering you again @keysofanxiety but I found something.
    Somehow, if I add +351 (which's the phone indicative of Portugal) behind the phone number, iMessage works fine, which means the bug is Contacts' related. However, I'm not changing every single contact in order to add +351 on it. Is there anyway to do it?

    Pedro
     

Share This Page