Macbook pro + Gefore 8600 + Vista ?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by alanvr, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. alanvr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I have a macbook pro 2.4 with 8600M GT.
    Ive got Vista up and running with bootcamp 1.3..everything works nicely......BUT....

    When i plug in my 20" Apple Cinema Display into my Macbook I dont get anything at all....just a black screen and the L.E.D flickers a couple of times and thats it.

    Also It works fine with XP and with OSX, but not with Vista.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
    Alan
     
  2. mags631 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #2
    When your 20" display is plugged in -- I assume you still have something on your LCD screen of your MBP?

    What does your Display control panel show under this scenario -- does it recognize that an external monitor is attached? Sometimes you need to explicitly tell Windows how to treat an external display (mirror, etc.) before it knows what to do with it.
     
  3. alanvr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #3
    Windows recognizes the display and its set to "attached".
    In the Nvidia control panel it recognizes the Cinema Display as well.
    Ive tried it all all settings, Mirror, Span....and so on.

    In the windows display settings the screen resolution comes up at 1024x768 when its meant to be 1680x1050, i cant change it either.

    I dont think there are any drivers for Cinema Display, i had a look but couldnt find any...but it should work without drivers really.
     
  4. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Same problem here. Can't get my external ACD to show anything in Vista. Behaves the same, nVidia control detects the monitor but thinks it's a TV (max res it allows is 1024x800). Regardless, no matter what I set it to it just stays blank anyway.
     
  5. 60six macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #5
    I can't get my macbook with bootcamp/xp to NOT use itself as the primary screen. I want my start menu on my 20" cinema!
     

Share This Page