macbook pro goes up to 80 Celsius playing Starcraft 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by krzkrzkrz, Jul 29, 2010.

1. krzkrzkrz macrumors member

I've got a Macbook Pro unibody. Purchased it a few months ago (Feb or Apr 2010). Running on Snow Leopard (10.6.4) 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4gb 1067 MHz DDR3 Ram.

I set the Macbook Pro for "Higher Perfomances" (System Preferences -> Energy Saver -> Higher performance), which I believe sets the video card to use the NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (512 MB).

I started playing Starcraft 2 online and realised that iStatMenus reports the CPU temperature at 80 Celsius. Depending on the day. I can play for 3-4 hours straight. The game runs smoothly at medium settings and no delays at all. The top left part of the laptop gets hot. However, not hot enough to feel uncomfortable. The fans kicks in at 5000+ RPM. I understand that there's a forced shutdown fail-safe built in, in the event of extreme temperatures. If it's too hot the machine will just shut down. I am more concerned about having it run too hot and prematurely wear down components in the future. Should I be worried about this or should I put my trust in the machine and firmly believe that 80C is just fine for this task?

I know of smcFanControl (3rd party software). But havent had the need to use it since the fans are at appropriate speeds. Or is it not?

The post at this forum suggests, that this is normal. Even for other tasks (encoding and etc).
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=963809

I could get a cooling pad to lower down the temperature a bit.

What are your thoughts?

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Those temperatures are normal, as the CPU is used during those intensive tasks, thus it draws more power and therefore more heat is generated and radiated from the CPU.

Those C2D CPUs can handle temperatures of up to 105°/120°C, thus 80°C is okay and no ned to be a worry.

3. krzkrzkrz thread starter macrumors member