MacBook Pro - Good time to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by deerwolf, Jun 18, 2009.

1. deerwolf macrumors newbie

So I know it is really up to me, and that something better will come along soon (something always does), but still I feel it is worth asking the community what they think.

I currently have a MacBook Pro Intel Core Duo 2.16ghz with 2GB RAM and an upgraded 7200rpm 200GB drive in it. I live and die by this thing, I work as a photo retoucher and graphic designer and I also produce music with my laptop (Logic, Ableton Live, Reason) and even perform with it on stage. I've had this laptop for 3 years in August (a good run all things considered) and have to say that it has served me very well. Still I hit the CPU ceiling everyday and generally the machine just feels slow, it's at the end of its life cycle for me, and since I make most of my money and art with the thing, I like to have something nice.

My main reservation is Apple's supposed move to the new Nehalem chips or generally quadcore chips in their laptops and that I will find myself in a situation as soon as Q3 2009 wishing I hadn't bought one of these machines yet. Yes, I know, something faster is always around the bend, and this I can deal with, but the new chipset is rumored to be a signifigant improvement and so I wonder if I should wait. The laptop I have continues to serve me well, however being so steeped in digital media I am inclined to buy a new one (and sell this one off while it still has some value) by the end of this year for sure.

Any thoughts are much appreciated!

2. xc runner macrumors member

If you need a new computer just get it. That's what I'm going to do soon. I was going to wait for the quadcore, but it will take a while for them to perfect it; so you'll be fine if you decide to upgrade now.

3. CashGap macrumors 6502

CashGap