Macbook Pro HANGS - Can anyone help?

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
To whoever reads this, thank you in advance. My UbMBP 13 inch becomes completely non-functional from time to time - and won't work until I do a manual reboot by switching it off and turning it on by pressing the power button.

Could someone help me understand what may be wrong with my system? I've posted the data below.

Thank you.


ERROR REPORT

Wed Apr 7 20:20:39
panic(cpu 1 caller 0x2269e4): "thread_invoke: preemption_level -1, possible cause: unlocking an unlocked mutex or spinlock"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.3.12/osfmk/kern/sched_prim.c:1471
Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
0x5899be18 : 0x21b449 (0x5ce420 0x5899be4c 0x2238a5 0x0)
0x5899be68 : 0x2269e4 (0x585e1c 0xffffffff 0x585db4 0x2262a8)
0x5899bee8 : 0x2270ea (0x813bb98 0x0 0x43dd7000 0x1)
0x5899bf58 : 0x227155 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x2a1596)
0x5899bf78 : 0x22fc29 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x0)
0x5899bfc8 : 0x29e6cc (0x863ea0 0x0 0x10 0x8b0b9e0)

BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task

Mac OS version:
10D573

Kernel version:
Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:58:09; root:xnu-1504.3.12~1/RELEASE_I386
System model name: MacBookPro5,5
 

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
22,166
580
Finland
Repair permissions with Disk Utility and verify disk too. Give OnyX a try as well.

If that doesn't help, reinstall OS X. Make a backup ASAP if you don't have one
 

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
I'm definitely going to take it to an AASP. But was hoping someone could help me understand what's going wrong before that. Thank you to all of you for your helpful advice though. And If anyone does know what this is about, please do let me know.

Thank you
 

jockey2

macrumors newbie
Apr 8, 2010
2
0
Same problem

I have totally the same problem with the same message. I am about to reinstall the whole OS.
Did you figure out your case?
 

Relznuk

macrumors 6502
Sep 27, 2009
387
0
UT, USA
I'm definitely going to take it to an AASP. But was hoping someone could help me understand what's going wrong before that. Thank you to all of you for your helpful advice though. And If anyone does know what this is about, please do let me know.

Thank you
Sounds like an issue with your RAM.
 

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
No - I haven't been able to figure out the case. Spoke to an Apple technician on the phone, he said to repair permissions, reset pram etc etc. The basic steps (don't quite remember all of them) That hasn't helped. I've tested my ram with Tech Tool Pro 5, it doesn't seem to indicate any problems with the ram sticks.

Jockye2 - I haven't been able to figure out what the problem is yet. If you manage to find the cause before I do, let me know.

Thank you to everyone who has taken the time out to suggest solutions.
 

ayeying

macrumors 601
Dec 5, 2007
4,549
11
Yay Area, CA
No - I haven't been able to figure out the case. Spoke to an Apple technician on the phone, he said to repair permissions, reset pram etc etc. The basic steps (don't quite remember all of them) That hasn't helped. I've tested my ram with Tech Tool Pro 5, it doesn't seem to indicate any problems with the ram sticks.

Jockye2 - I haven't been able to figure out what the problem is yet. If you manage to find the cause before I do, let me know.

Thank you to everyone who has taken the time out to suggest solutions.
Just because it didn't indicate any problems doesn't mean there aren't any. Real memory tests take 48 hours to run to see if theres any problems.
 

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
Alright, I'll take it in to an AASP. Jockey2 - I'll let you know when they let me know what's wrong. But it may take a while because the AASP in my area works at their own pace. Thank you everyone for your help.
 

Weirddoc

macrumors newbie
Apr 9, 2010
4
0
Alright, I'll take it in to an AASP. Jockey2 - I'll let you know when they let me know what's wrong. But it may take a while because the AASP in my area works at their own pace. Thank you everyone for your help.
Please keep me posted as well, because I have the same issue!

panic(cpu 1 caller 0x2269e4): "thread_invoke: preemption_level -1, possible cause: unlocking an unlocked mutex or spinlock"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.3.12/osfmk/kern/sched_prim.c:1471
Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
0x58753e28 : 0x21b449 (0x5ce420 0x58753e5c 0x2238a5 0x0)
0x58753e78 : 0x2269e4 (0x585e1c 0xffffffff 0x585db4 0x2262a8)
0x58753ef8 : 0x2270ea (0x81227c4 0x3 0x2c 0x0)
0x58753f68 : 0x219096 (0x29e695 0x0 0x1 0x4ec9dc)
0x58753fa8 : 0x2a7a07 (0xffffffff 0x1 0x58753fc8 0x7f9aea4)
0x58753fc8 : 0x29e8a6 (0x0 0x0 0x10 0x7f9aea4)
 

wilsonhaven

macrumors member
Oct 12, 2009
66
0
Possible Virtualization Issue

I am having the same issue. After some research it seems that all of the recent users having this problem are using either VMware Fusion (Version 3.0.2 and 3.1), Parallels, or VirtualBox. It seems that something in how they interact with the kernel is causing the problem. Is anyone with Apple Care support getting any information from Apple? I haven't found an answer yet on the VMware Fusion forum yet.

Thanks!

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,3
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP53.00AC.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.48f2
 

wilsonhaven

macrumors member
Oct 12, 2009
66
0
I checked my system with OnyX and found that i have a boot volume structure issue. It passed the S.M.A.R.T. tests. I'll update with the results. Have others with this problem ruled out disk issues?

Thanks!
 

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
I'm not using any of these - neither VMware Fusion (Version 3.0.2 and 3.1), Parallels, or VirtualBox. I even changed my hard drive to rule out boot issues and the problem is still occurring. If anyone has any updates or solutions to this problem, please let us know.
Thanks.
 

J&JPolangin

macrumors 68030
Jul 5, 2008
2,564
5
Thule GL @ the TOW
I had a similar problem with my netbook and tech's said it "couldn't be fixed:eek:

I swapped the upgraded HDD back to the original HDD, same issue... installed a SSD with a clone of the original HDD...issue developed...

Finally did a full install from the included OS disks and the problems went away... have you tried reloading OSX from your restore disks yet?
 

KSBOOM

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2008
16
0
Yes. This is a fresh install - installed from the 10.6 Macbook Pro discs. It seems to be more of a Mac hardware issue than a hard disk issue. The same issue is occurring with 2 different hard disks indicating the common factor may be the Macbook Pro instead of the hard disks. However if anyone has any more helpful information, I'd appreciate it. I will update when I receive any more information also. As always, thank you for your help.