MacBook Pro has been acting a little weird

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Yttims7036, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. Yttims7036 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys, new to the forum.

    I have a mid-late 2009 15" MacBook Pro. As of late, every time it starts up, the desktop will show, and then the screen turns black for +/- 3 seconds. After that, the desktop will show up again, and one of two things will happen:

    1) It works perfectly fine, or more often than not,
    2) The dock refuses to show up, Finder freezes, and I have no choice but to do a force-restart. Once it boots back up, it always works completely fine.

    Also, my computer's screen has been going black for +/- 3 seconds even when I'm well in to using it (i.e. it's been on and in use for at least an hour).

    Any idea what's going on?

    Thanks in advance, everyone.
     
  2. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #2
    I don't have any special insight, but I'm going to state the obvious and say you should make a bootable clone asap, reset the SMC/PRAM, try a hardware test (on the install disk), and try a clean install of the OS and migrate your user back in, and see what happens.

    Worst case scenario you have a logic board/GPU kind of issue, next worse step a going bad LCD, or maybe its just a cable inside, or maybe its software based and these early steps will make it go away
     
  3. Yttims7036 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #3
    I backup with Time Machine multiple times a day; will that do as far as a bootable clone goes?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  4. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Yes although I'm not sure if TM copies the OS. Reinstalling the OS is super easy anyhow.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Time machine doesn't make a bootable clone, but you can boot from your restore discs and select the "restore from time machine backup" option and it will do the trick.

    I don't believe that the 2009 models had the same graphics card issues as the 2007/2008 MBP, but there could still be a hardware issue. I'd try running the extended Apple hardware test looped overnight to stress the computer and reveal any problems.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1509
     
  6. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #6

    No, Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper do bootable clones. Time Machine will let you migrate your stuff back in on a clean install, but a bootable clone is a one button restore more or less, and you can bring it to any similar mac and boot your system as per before if there is a perm hardware issue on your machine.
     

Share This Page