Macbook Pro HD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CoolMe, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. CoolMe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Evening :)

    I'm thinking about upgrading my hard drive in the macbook pro, like the ram it's 'special'

    Does the hard drive have to be a particular type? or is their a nice little list i can choose from?

    Cheers,

    Is it worth going for a SSD or just a bigger and better than the current one i've got?

    (Just for the record, i've got the one that did not recently come out, the one just before it) haha
     
  2. JG271 macrumors 6502a

    JG271

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Just has to be a 2.5" SATA drive.

    I wouldn't bother with a SSD, just a nice big HD will do. If you want reads/writes to be faster maybe consider getting a 7,200rpm disk. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    As above but don't forget it needs to be 9.5mm thick ( unless its its a 17'' pro in which case the hitachi travelstar 500GB 12.5mm will fit )
     
  4. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    oh I've got the 15.4"

    Cheers for that, any particular website for purchasing HD's?

    I'm looking for something that lighter than the one I have, Carrying around this baby is hard work!
     
  5. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #5
    so are you now asking for a lighter hdd? go with the ssd if you want to shave a few ounces. :rolleyes:
     
  6. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #6
    I don't think you can cut too much weight from changing out a hard drive. If you dont want to buy a SLC SSD, grab a nice 7200rpm drive.
     
  7. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #7
    That's funny....may want to pick up a MacBook for that! I did the same, in fact, I am typing on it now....for working around the house, in my lap. My MBP doesn't see the light of day around the house....just the MB!

    Good Luck
     
  8. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Does anyone know the weight of the Hatchi HD used in the macbook pros?

    - With the price of SSD's and the storage, I'll go with a nice normal one ;)

    EDIT

    Would this be better?

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/146083
     
  9. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #9
    While these may not be the exact Hitachi drives Apple uses in some MBPs, this OWC page shows Hitachis at 110-115g- and the Western Digital you linked is 111g so.... like was mentioned above there is not going to be anything other than negligible weight differences from a part that light.

    The Western Digital drive would be fine, as would Hitachi, Samsung, Seagate, etc drives, with a slight operating speed advantage going to drives that operate at 7200rpm over those that are 5400rpm.
     
  10. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #10
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    nothing wrong with that, just a side note to your key areas list it needs to have a SATA connection
     
  12. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #12
    When you say 'nothing wrong with that' do you mean I can do better for a smaller price :p
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    Nope i mean its a great drive at a good price
     
  14. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
  15. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #15
    dude...do you realize you will not even notice the difference in weight?
     
  16. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #16
    The new one will be 99g where as the current one is like 115?

    Trust me, if your lugging it around all day in a side bag - It really hurts your shoulder!
     
  17. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #17
    At this point, a 7200 rpm drive would be a better choice of bang for your buck (speed, capacity and price).
     
  18. kmarketing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #18
    Not sure if this is important here, but if you have the older model with the silver keyboard, be careful as upgrading the HD may affect your warranty.
     
  19. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #19
    I've already done my ram :)

    Yes - It's the silver keyboard, the model just before the recent one
     
  20. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #20
    Ooh, he did say that in the OP. And you're right. You'd have to have an authorized apple repair center put it in, and it would have to be a model that apple already uses.

    For example, here in OKC the apple store won't do it, but promac computers or the macman would...for a small fee.
     
  21. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #21
    So how do I know what type of HD's apple use? and how much would that cost!

    If I were to do it myself, I wouldn't have to tell them If I were did go and needed help would I?
     
  22. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #22
    This subject was probably the most discussed ever! it's a moot point with the unibody but big deal for the precedent ones. I replaced mine and the word is as long you don't mess up anything doing it you should be fine as Apple has no way (and no time) to know if it was done at a shop or not. If you're comfortable replacing it i say go for it :) good luck.
     
  23. CoolMe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #23
    Ah okay, thats fine then :)

    Besides - Apple show you how to replace a HD on their website!
     

Share This Page