MacBook Pro HDD Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KlausFunk, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. KlausFunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I upgraded my 2012 Macbook Pro to a Samsung SSD for OS and Apps. Put the stock drive into the SuperDrive slot for Home folder and everything else. All good so far...

    Now I want to upgrade the HDD as I need more capacity. I used CCC to clone my HDD then copied it across to the new HDD. I ran into problems when I switched the drives.

    Can someone explain how and if I can do this successfully?

    Thank you.
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    The simplest and most idiot-proof way would be to put your new hard drive in a hard drive caddy or enclosure. Plug it in, format it correctly in HFS+ with diskutility, and simply copy the whole thing over overnight.

    Plop it in when it's done.
     
  3. KlausFunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #3
    snaky69 - I already did this. Exactly as you described.

    When I switched the drives I could not log into my admin account. So I logged in as a guest and relocated and assigned the new drive as my 'Home' folder. I logged out and re-logged into my admin account. Everything was really sluggish and unresponsive.

    Perhaps there is something else I need to do?
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    Could OS X be simply indexing the drive, as it is bound to do when you put in a new one? That'd explain the sluggishness.

    Depending on the amount of data it could take a few hours.
     
  5. KlausFunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I wondered this also. But this should only have a minimal impact on the OS and Apps right? They are all installed on SSD. So surely that should all be fine? This was quite a dramatic impact on performance, the machine was falling apart! I switched back to the original HDD now its fine again :/
     
  6. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    any reason they need to be the Home folder?

    I have a similar setup as you but the drive in the optical bay is really just the files in folders

    example

    a folder called Movies with all my movie files, and one called Music with all my music files etc.
     
  7. KlausFunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Not really, no. This is just what was advised when researching how to do to it. SSD for OS and Apps. HDD for Home and everything else.

    My SDD is a 120gb Samsung and already 80gb full.

    I am assuming there are files on in the Home folder that are somehow associated with my OS and Admin account. Causing the problems I am having. Not allowing me to log in etc
     
  8. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    that might be the culprit, I have no issues with my setup but like I said I don't have any folders of files that OSX looks for or relies on
     

Share This Page