MacBook Pro - Help - About To Buy MBP!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dexists, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. Dexists macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys.. first of all, great site!

    I've had a little search around multiple boards, but i'm not entirely satisfied so I'd like to put some questions out there.

    First, the background: I've finally had enough of vista and my vaio, and I'm looking for a fresh start with a nice MBP. I want the smallest size possible, so i'm currently looking at the 15" model with the 2.4 GHz.

    Now, the questions:

    1) Apple are looking for £480 to upgrade from 2GB ram to 4GB, which is the amount of ram that I want. However, if they think I am paying that much they are crazy. So I'm looking to buy 2x 2GB sticks. Apple list their ram at 667 Mhz speed. However, I know that there are 200 pin, 2GB DDR2 sticks on the way at speeds of 800 Mhz. I was wondering:
    Will DDR2-800 sticks be compatible with the latest (june 07) macbook pro?

    2) When my macbook pro arrives should I install the 2x 2GB sticks (regardless whether they are 667 or 800 obviously) before booting it up for the first time or after? Does it matter?

    3) What is the general consensus of a Macbook Pro BODY upgrade when Leopard comes around? I'm getting the impression people aren't realistically expecting one but am I wrong? I know there are rumours of a smaller and/or thinner model, but there always are.

    Thanks guys. I should also mention that I am going to be waiting till Leopard's release before I get a mac, as I can wait till October and I don't really want my first true mac experience to be a software upgrade procedure. I had enough pain with Vista.

    Thanks everyone for their advice in advance! It's nice to see a sense of community after the cold experience that was Windows :D

    D
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. Don't buy DDR2-800 RAM for the MacBook Pro.

    2. Make sure your laptop isn't DOA before you install additional hardware.

    3. I highly doubt any sort of body upgrade.
     
  3. Dexists thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    1) Why?

    2) Bloody good point! Stupid me.

    3) What about a processor upgrade? Ideas?

    Thanks so much mate
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    1. You're buying more expensive RAM to run at 667 Mhz.

    3. A process upgrade is possible but then again doubtful. The T7800 and X7xxx Series are possible.
     
  5. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    2) the ram will only work at the speed the computer's bus allows it to.

    3) many would say you wouldn't want os x 10.5.0 to 10.5.2 anyway. too buggy and unstable.
     
  6. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #6
    Last time I checked I was under the impression the new MBP supported 800mhz ram.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    You mean an 800 MHz Front Side Bus.
     
  8. Dexists thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #8
    Thanks guys.. you've given me a really good picture. This is definitely the best mac forum around. Just a few more questions then..

    1) Did anyone upgrade from 10.3 to 10.4? Was it simple? Do you lose start again and lose files or settings etc? Or does it just build on top? Vista was an absolute nightmare. I cannot stress that enough. Absolute NIGHTMARE. I'd rather wait for a stable release of leopard than have a bad first experience.

    2) Is Apple OEM memory top notch or are there higher grades?

    Thanks again

    D
     
  9. brandonshough macrumors regular

    brandonshough

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    1. Upgrade was smooth as silk

    2. Apple uses Samsung or Hynix. Buy Crucial or OWC and it's the same thing.
    www.crucial.com
    www.macsales.com
     
  10. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #10
    Again, correct me if I'm wrong, but to make full use of the FBS at 800mhz dont we need 800mhz RAM? I saw on your link that it supports up to 667mhz ram, but isn't the ram in the old MBPs already 667mhz?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    As always I suggest backing up your user directory at the very least. I've upgraded a few machines. It's not anymore painful then an archive and install.

    DDR2-800 for single channel and DDR2-400 for dual channel. That is if the controller supported full speed DDR2-800 RAM.
     
  12. Dexists thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #12
    Thanks guys so much...

    So I went into an apple store to have a look at the macbook pros, and ended up falling in love with the 17 inch! It wasnt as big as I thought it was, and I love the idea of having a HD screen.

    So I ended up ordering a 17" HD Glossy, 2.4Ghz, 160GB @ 7200rpm and stock ram. Just ordered 4GB of Kingston ram on the net (not Kingston Value, don't worry)

    So excited! Will get my hands on it on the 24th...

    D :apple:
     
  13. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #13
    santa rosa platform can only handle 667 ram not 800

    besides...800 is more expensive
     
  14. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #14
    You'll love it!
     

Share This Page