macbook pro high cpu while off charger

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by porky2017, Aug 21, 2014.

  1. porky2017 macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi forum.

    my macbook pro mid 2011 i5 8 g ram, everytime i take it off the charger it goes crazy with nearly 100 percent high cpu, & its barely usable, the i stat cpu gauge
    is full but soon as i put it back on the charger you can see the cpu just drop straight away back to normal & it is usable again.

    Can a faulty battery cause these panics my battery has only 336 cycles not even half its life span. I read somewhere this guy had the same problem & he replaced the battery & solved his problem so i aint sure, i dont want to rush out & buy a new battery & it doesnt solve my problem.
    At the moment I have applied the workaround which is helping but i dont seem to be getting full power of the cpu..

    Thanx in advance forum..
    link http://www.rdoxenham.com/?p=259
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    What does the activity monitor say when on the battery? What processes are eating up your cycles?
     
  3. porky2017 thread starter macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    on battery kernel task is like 4 percent when you take it of the charger it goes
    up to 100 percent the cpu box on stat menus is fully red .

    the kernel task seems to be the culprit.
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    I'd repair disk permissions and if that does resolve it do an OSX reinstall, then a fresh install, if it then shows the issue still it will need hardware attention I think.

    At the moment it could just be the charger interface code messed up,hence the above. If you have a good existing backup you can skip straight to the fresh install after the permissions repair...if not then take a backup before doing anything.
     

Share This Page