Macbook Pro Horror Story, What to do

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaronacw, May 17, 2009.

1. aaronacw macrumors newbie

I bought a Santa Rosa Macbook Pro in November 2007 and since then, it has been nothing but trouble for me.For the first year it was perfect, but since then it has been in repair 5 times with the screen changed, dvd drive changed, topcase changed 3 times, and out of the last 8 months, it has been at apple for almost a month. Now, I am getting a "cannot calibrate laser strength" message, and I have almost had it with this computer, the topcase has been scratched due to faulty attachment of the screen and it feels like the topcase is coming loose. I am a student and this is my primary machine to do work on. What can I do? How can I get a replacement? because this is ridiculous. The thing is, is that the machine is not of merchantile quality. Also, the machine has never been dropped.

Thanks
    Aaron

2. Warranty Voider macrumors 6502

Go to the apple store or call them and tell them what you've been through. Say that you don't have the time for them to fix their mistakes. Ask that they fix it, but also mention you wanting them to replace it. Be nice, but firm. A couple years ago my friend went through repair after repair. After 5 times they replaced it with the latest model of similar specs.

3. youssefm macrumors 6502

I suggest you call apple care over the phone, and speak to customer relations because that is unacceptable, I would wait patiently, but be firm and demanding over the phone, and ask for a replacement, I think they should do it.

4. bli625 macrumors 6502a

bli625