MacBook Pro i5 1600MHz RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ThomasLentati, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. ThomasLentati macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #1
    Hi, I'm creating a new discussion because no one can answer my question.
    So I have a MBP 13" i5 @2.4 GHz. (it's a late 2011 model)
    Yes, I've bought 1600MHz DDR3 RAM and I've seen on the internet that the mac MHz the i5 can take is 1333MHz, but if I put the 1600MHz RAM in my i5 it will probably just Clock Down to 1333MHz? I'm I correct? I hope so because otherwise I've just wasted $150.
     
  2. IngerMan macrumors 6502a

    IngerMan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    A poster in another thread showed running at 1600 on a i7 2.0 Quad, and on that intel chip 2635QM, Intel claims it can only run at 1066/1333.

    So I guess your going to have to put it in and let us know. It appears you have a good chance of it working.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #3
    Yeah, ur right. The i7 can work with 1600MHz RAM but the Intel website says the MAX MHz is 1333, just like the intel core i5 they say the MAX in MHz is 1333, so maybe it will work. I'm still waiting for my ram to arrive.
     
  4. Zwikker macrumors regular

    Zwikker

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV
    #4
    Personally, I would just return the item to avoid any possible damage. It might not cause any problem in a short run but you never know what's going to happen in a long run.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    You have the ram.Maybe put it in and find out:confused:
     
  6. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #6
    Haven't got the RAM yet. :(

    ----------

    What could possibly happen? :confused:
     
  7. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #7
    1600 RAM will clock down to 1333. There should not be any issues even in the long run.
     
  8. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #8
    The RAM chips will have built-in tables containing the Cl (latency) values for 1066, 1333, and 1600MHz. On bootup the CPU memory controller will read the tables and set the appropriate speed, and Cl for that speed.
     
  9. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #9
    Thank you so much GUYS ! :D
     

Share This Page