MacBook Pro in Mexico--Adapter needed?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by csc, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. csc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    According to the user guide (2006 ed.), a MacBookPro power adapter accepts "Input: AC 100–240 volts (V), 50/60 hertz (Hz)." Mexico power is 127v/60Hz. From what I understand, the plugs are the same as in the US.

    Given that--if correct--do I need any sort of adapter to power my MBP in Mexico?

    Thanks in advance,

    CSC
     
  2. AstroHouse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Morada CA
    #2
    I took my Toshiba laptop to Oaxaca without any adapter earlier this year. Doubt that things have changed since then, except I've abandoned Win XP!
     
  3. ProstheticHead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I lugged my Pismo to Cabo with me a couple years ago and used the power just fine, no worries.
     
  4. Mindcrime13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #4
    what do you think?

    if the input holds from 100 to 240. 50 or 60 herts,


    what do you think?
     
  5. GregUofMN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #5
    Be very carefull about bringing anything of value to Mexico if you are staying in a hotel. I've heard plenty of horror stories from people who's hotel rooms were robbed. Most rooms have the small safes in the closets, but they are just that--small. If you have a 17" MBP, you probably won't get it into a safe.

    Do yourself a favor and leave the laptop at home for the week and spend some time on the beach with a cocktail.
     
  6. csc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for answering the question; it made sense, but I would rather ask an obvious question than fry an expensive piece of electronics. And, if I weren't going for work, I wouldn't need the laptop....

    CSC
     

Share This Page