Macbook Pro Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz worth it to buy ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alebar14, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. alebar14 macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I just bought a used Macbook Pro 2.0 Ghz at a reasonable price (NZ$2,333.31). This would be my first Macbook Pro hands on. I used to have an iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz (and I sold it for financial resistance) and was planning to buy the latest Macbook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2 Ghz which I can't afford at this stage.

    I will use this machine for Adobe CS 3 Suite (Photoshop, inDesign, and Illustrator) as part of my freelance jobs ,and some game light for The Sims 2 and its expansion packs.

    I have been always tempted to buy the latest Macbook Pro but my pocket can buy this one. Am I buying the right one ? Is this still worth it for further 2-3 years ahead ?
     
  2. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #2
    I cannot say based on your demands...

    I'm not completely familiar w/ those programs and their demands, but I just sold my 1 1/2 yr old 1.83GHz MBP and got a 2.4/ 160HD/ 2GB Ram stock comp and the old one works quite well still...

    If you got a "Fair Price" I imagine all will be well and U will be happy I am sure!! Congrats for this....
     
  3. simontarr macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Well, if you can't afford a brand new one at the present, then it's just going to have to make do. But, it's still a perfectly capable machine. I have an iMac with the same power CPU and I'm still using it as my main machine, and never feel like I need something faster.
     
  4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #4
    If you can, get one of the C2D (MBP Rev B) models. They were a lot cooler and more reliable than the CD MBPs.
     
  5. amusiccale macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    That machine is perfectly capable. In fact, by capable, I mean that it will seem to move quickly on just about every task you throw at it, especially if you're moving from a G3/G4. There's no reason, unless you are intent on using the latest-and-greatest technology, to replace this model. If you are worried about heat, put it on a stand or cooling pad. Since you are using the CS3 suite, you'll probably get better performance than those of us with newer computers that have not yet purchased the Universal version.
     

Share This Page