MacBook Pro Issue + Upgrading to SSD Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GothamKnight, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. GothamKnight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #1
    Hi. I have a 2.66ghz i7 Macbook Pro (I think I bought in 2009 or 2010?). It's running 10.6.8 and has 8GB ram. I was always a PC guy until I started using Logic so that is the main reason I use a Mac.

    Anyway, in the past few weeks the computer has frozen 2-3 times. I also have wanted to upgrade the main hard drive to SSD. I'm concerned about the OS or some plugins or Logic upgrading if I reinstall everything and then stuff not working. Is it possible to copy a disc image to an SSD and it just working? I'd guess not, but I figured I'd ask...
     
  2. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #2
    Yes, it's possible. Tools like the Mac Disk Utility or third-part tools like Carbon Copy Cleaner can do it. But it probably won't be that easy. I'm going to guess that whatever SSD you buy would be smaller than your original hard drive. Therefore, you'd have to clean up the internal drive and save off your files to an external disk to get the disk usage under what the new drive's size would be.
     
  3. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region

Share This Page