MacBook Pro Late 2008 vs. Current MacBook Pro Difference?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChitoCrisis, Jan 9, 2011.

1. ChitoCrisis macrumors member

I'm not very good with specs and I realize there is a significant difference between the late 2008 MacBook Pro and the current MacBook Pro. I'm buying a new one and I'd like to know how much of a difference it is (like using percents or I don't know, something). That would be of some really good help to me. I'm just excited to be buying a new one and I can't wait to test it out. I'm just a little bummed out that Lion will come out later this year and I won't be able to get it on my new MBP. But MacApps works just fine right? What else is in Snow Leopard? (I'm on Leopard) Thanks.

15.4" MacBook Pro specs:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/sp499

Current 15.4" MacBook Pro specs:
    http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/specs.html

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

The biggest difference is that current MBPs have i5 processor while older ones have Core 2 Duo. According to http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/mac-benchmarks/, the difference is roughly 50%. The key question is, however, what are you going to use it for? Faster CPU only helps if your usage can take advantage of it. Most apps cannot. Sure the new ones have better GPU too but it's not that huge difference.

If you don't need it right now, wait. New MBPs should be out in couple of months

3. ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

I need to buy one before April unfortunately. That's when I'll be leaving out of town.

I mostly use my MacBook Pro for Flash animation, a little bit of PhotoShop (both CS4), and playing video games on Steam. Some games on Steam require Snow Leopard, which I find ridiculous because I think mine can definitely run them but oh well. I'm also going to use it to edit videos from my HD camcorder.

Thanks for the quick reply.

4. ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member