Macbook Pro(late2008) volume buttons not controlling the volume

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by incognitomachin, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. incognitomachin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    This is my first Mac, and I love it.

    I have wanted one since 1998 and finally got one.


    I have had it for about 2 weeks and everything has been fine until yesterday.

    The volume in itunes,vlc player,youtube, you name it, doesnt respond to the volume buttons (f10,f11,f12) at all, requiring me to individually control them in each player or application.

    I have been personalizing my mac and all my preferences since day one, but can't think of anything that I did to separate the function of the volume keys from the volume output.

    EDIT TO ADD:

    When i push the volume buttons, the volume image on my screen responds, and indicates that I am moving the volume up, down. or off... but the the actual volume level output that my ears hear stays the same unless manually controled from the audio/video player or application.

    I rely on these..just went on a coworker myspace to leave her a comment and her song starts blaring out in the coffee shop I am at... and it was a terrible clubby/ghey/house/trance song.

    I am a newb and there is prob something simple I did to set it up this way, but i can't figure it out.

    Please help.
     
  2. Nikos macrumors 68000

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Those keys don't control the volume for individual applications, only the global volume of the laptop. If you can't hear the difference then I suggest you see a doctor ASAP.
     
  3. eldy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    The City
    #3
    "See" a doctor! LOL! :D
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    It's as they say, the volume buttons are only for the main system volume. Unless the application has been coded with volume shortcuts the volume keys will only adjust the master volume.
     
  5. incognitomachin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #5
    Maybe I wasn't clear.. I can have a youtube video or itunes running, and the global volume output i hear isn't changed by the volume button, whether I button it up, down or mute it.

    never mind..problem solved...by the way, thanks for the helpful,positive response for my first problem post.
     
  6. eldy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    The City
    #6
    How did you resolve the problem?
     
  7. incognitomachin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #7
    I went to the doctor, explained that as a DJ and part time music producer I have an apparent hearing problem that was never noticed until the past 48 hours. I showed him this thread, and he ridiculed my mbp problem away.

    It was awesome.
     
  8. eldy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    The City
    #8
    I'd also visit an ear nose and throat specialist in case there are more serious underlying problems.
     
  9. cubedweller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #9
    ...optical audio?

    Just an FYI: if you have an optical audio connection plugged in to the headphone jack the volume buttons won't work as the MBP will be sending out a constant digital signal.
     
  10. kockgunner macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #10
    This has been happening to me way to frequently. Say I have iTunes running and I have music playing and I want to turn the volume down so I hit the keys on my keyboard. However, hitting the keys on the keyboard doesn't affect the volume, they just make that blip sound when changing volume but I can still hear music even when muted. The only way I can adjust volume at that point is to go into iTunes and adjust the volume slider.

    The problem usually happens when I have headphones plugged in and then I remove them. I also just got an Apple remote FWIW.
     

Share This Page