Macbook Pro, Macbook or what???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by robk, May 18, 2007.

1. robk macrumors member

I've been a PC/Mac whore over the past 3 years. I had a powerbook G4 and a desktop PC but decided that I didn't use either of them fully so sold my G4 and broke apart and sold my Windows desktop and bought a gaming laptop (PC)

Now I'm selling that because I've realised how much I miss the mac and how annoying using a PC can be.

So my question is this.

I'm a graphic designer, using my laptop for occasional freelance work but I use a PC at my day job as a GD too. I'd like to do a bit more video work but I'm wondering if I really need a Mac Book pro, however the build quality of the macbook seems really naff, the ones in the shops seem a bit flimsy, like a massive Psion or something.

As a GD will I benefit from a Macbook Pro, and (althought this is covered elswhere) is it worth waiting till the Developers conference for updates.

2. Igantius macrumors 65816

Many many threads about buying a MBP vs a MB (including about graphic design work) already - so best taking a look!

However, from what you've outlined as to your needs, a MB would most likely meet them just fine - but as it sounds you don't really care for their looks/design, so sounds like you would prefer a MBP. If it's going to be your only machine, I would be inclined to go with the MBP, patricularly if you're not going to use an external monitor.

Definitely hold off buying until WWDC.

3. elppa macrumors 68040

elppa

As the MBs have been updated, you can put good money on the MBPs following suite within a few weeks.

4. robk thread starter macrumors member

Thanks guys, sorry for asking repeated questions

5. ibglowin macrumors regular

MBP's are built to last. MB's are plastic. Better keyboards (quality), better graphics. You name it, their just built better all the way around.