MacBook Pro Memory QS - very confused!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by d88co88, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. d88co88 macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    Hi, I have a late 2008 (that's what geekbench says) MacBook Pro unibody, specs in my sig. Can this model support 8 GB of ram? I'm confused because I've read both arguments that it can hold only 6 GB and it can support 8 GB. Which is correct? Thanks!!!
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Go to Crucial.com and run their automatic memory scanner. That will tell you the official amount of RAM your notebook supports.
     
  3. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    It says only 4 GB, but thats officially. I know it can either support 6 GB or 8 GB but I don't know which.
     
  4. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #4
    Probably just 6 GB.

    My understanding is that the firmware change in early-mid 09 which allowed 8 GB of RAM. FWIW, I was able to put 8 GB in my mid 09.

    Note that there is a lot of misinformation re what the mem capacity is for the 08-09 MBP. Even the ram vendors seem to get this wrong.

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  5. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    Ok, one more thing. Should I upgrade to 4 GB or 6GB? I understand I lose dual channel memory, but I don't know what that means. Is it big enough of a difference to go up to 6 GB?

    If it matters, I'm use CS3, mostly dreamweaver, photoshop, and flash. I also like to browse the internet a lot and occasionally edit some video.
     
  6. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    I really need to know this guys because I'm planning on buying some really soon!


     
  7. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Since the official number if 4 GB, I say 4GB. It might cause issues if you upgrade to more than the official number.
     

Share This Page