Macbook Pro Memory Upgrade Options

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trcwest, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. trcwest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #1
    Dear All,

    I am about to receive my New Macbook Pro 2.5ghz 15" Model.

    It will be coming with the 2gb of Ram and i intend to remove that and flog it or sell it at my Uni for all those people who have only 1gb Macbooks or MBP's. I guess between £10-15 Per 1GB would every one say that is fair?

    Now i want to replace it With 4GB of ram.

    I have been researching and the first one was at crucial.com/uk and i can get the 4gb Pacage for £66

    Now on Ebuyer the same Memory i think is £59.22 http://www.ebuyer.com/product/142423
    Is this exactely the same as that on the Crucial Site??

    The other options are
    4GB Kingston Memory £32.94 X2
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/119498

    4gb Corsair Memory £24.83 X2
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/142434
    Confusing as there are two options with the same proodcut but different price??http://www.ebuyer.com/product/130435 Is there a difference.

    Or the Ebuyer One 28.99
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/131133

    Link to all of the ones i think would work!! http://www.ebuyer.com/search/?intStoreID=2&intCatID=152&intSubcatUID=2503

    NOW WHICH BRAND OR ONE DO I GO FOR.

    I am inclined to go for the cheap corsair one or the Crucial or even the Kingston could somone help and explain what the difference between the three are and which brand is the Best??

    Many Thanks...
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    First of all it's just 4GB of RAM. 4GB Megs does not make any sense. 1GB=1000MB. I'd recommend the crucial. They've always been the company I trust most.
     
  3. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #3
    Get the Cheapest Corsair it doesn't really matter because Crucial doesn't make their stuff I believe it's Micron. No body makes their stuff so any ram is good.
     
  4. trcwest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #4
    Cheers....

    Thanks bud thats cool sorry about that Megs issue changed it now.

    Crucial are pretty good aren't they i hear that they even supply to apply Direct.
     
  5. trcwest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #5
    Yeah i thought that would be th case....

    Yeah i realized that they all will do the same thing and it will come with a 5yr guarantee so that will be fine even if it conks out.
    Cheers
     
  6. trcwest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #6
    Lifetime warranty for corsair ones

    Oops their is actually a lifetime warranty for the corsair one and i think all others having a second look.
     
  7. luftwaffles08 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #7
    I actually went with the Kingston when I updated my 2.33 RAM from 2 to 3gb (which I'd like to thank everybody on here for convincing me that I was not going to cause a massive system failure. It went incredibly easily). I went with the Kingston stick because it was cheap and I've used Kingston in the past for replacements. As long as you're ordering it from a place you trust with a good return policy, I would try to balance value and reputation. I know Crucial is highly regarded on this site, and with the lifetime warranty, I don't see how it can be a bad choice.
     
  8. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Crucial is Micron - Micron is Crucial
     
  9. scott9s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #9
    I Have similar questions. If you look for "Mac Memory", the prices seem a little higher.

    For example, if you go to newegg. There is a Kingston 4GB package that is selling right now for $105.

    However, if you look for 2 X 2GB DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) 200 pin laptop memory chips, it seems to be 20 to 30% cheaper.

    I also wonder about the CAS Latency timings. the Kingston.com and Crucial.com website recommends CAS timings of 5. However, there are some timings of CL 4 available. Is it compatible? Does it matter that its a "mac" memory? Or is that marketing humble jumble?

    Update: I saw this post at Corsair about CAS Low Latency Timings and 20% increase in performance (which seems difficult to believe)
     
  10. trcwest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #10
    Not aware of this..

    I am not aware of this new Low Latency Timings.... I would feel that it works off the same infrastructure therefore cannot really increase the performance so dramatically. I would think for such and increase you would have to change the memory type altogether. I am only assuming so if you have more evidence then great i will get that new memory.
     
  11. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #11

    Crucial is the brandname, their other brands include Lexar
    and Micron Technologies, Inc. is the Company.

    It's similar to MacBook, MacBookPro and Apple. :rolleyes:
     
  12. scott9s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #12
    See the attached PDF. Now, granted, this was written and tested by Corsair, so they have a vested interest in faster memory, but it makes sense.

    From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAS_latency :

    When selecting a RAM card, the lower the CAS latency (given the same clock speed), the less time it takes to fetch data from it.

    CAS is an abbreviation for column address strobe, or sometimes column address select, both referring to the column of the physical memory location in an array (comprised of columns and rows) of capacitors used in dynamic random access memory modules. Thus CAS Latency (CL) is the time (in number of clock cycles) that elapses between the memory controller telling the memory module to access a particular column in the current row, and the data from that column being read from the module's output pins.​



    I'm just wondering if MAC Memory is required just because you pass a few "certified" apple tests.

    Anyone try non-mac memory?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. jordanpn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #13
    For what it's worth, I just installed 4GB of CAS4 G.Skill RAM into my 2.5GHz 17" Penryn MBP. The memory seems to work perfectly fine (it has 4-4-4-12 timings like the above mentioned Corsair) and I would be interested in knowing if there is any difference compared to the stock memory. Here is my Xbench with the CAS4 RAM. Memory test and Thread test are the one ones I am interested in comparing.

    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.5.2 (9C2028)
    Physical RAM 4096 MB
    Model MacBookPro4,1
    Drive Type Hitachi HTS722020K9SA00
    CPU Test 168.08
    GCD Loop 291.77 15.38 Mops/sec
    Floating Point Basic 141.88 3.37 Gflop/sec
    vecLib FFT 117.04 3.86 Gflop/sec
    Floating Point Library 209.31 36.45 Mops/sec
    Thread Test 301.86
    Computation 498.74 10.10 Mops/sec, 4 threads
    Lock Contention 216.43 9.31 Mlocks/sec, 4 threads
    Memory Test 174.28
    System 191.70
    Allocate 310.80 1.14 Malloc/sec
    Fill 152.96 7437.14 MB/sec
    Copy 169.66 3504.28 MB/sec
    Stream 159.77
    Copy 150.14 3101.08 MB/sec
    Scale 149.87 3096.28 MB/sec
    Add 170.38 3629.47 MB/sec
    Triad 171.41 3666.88 MB/sec
     

Share This Page