Macbook Pro Mid 2009 ram upgrading issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by beatboxingboy, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. beatboxingboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Lexington TN
    #1
    I recently bought 2x 4GB ram pieces and installed them and switched them around and when I boot up the mac, it boots up fine but it only shows that there is only one 4GB piece. We have switched them both around and switched them around with 2GB pieces also. It does nothing. It apparently only wants to accept 6GBs at the max! Yes, I have made sure that both of the pieces are in all the way.

    Please help,
    Joshua
     
  2. b6s4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
  3. Natzoo macrumors 65816

    Natzoo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Not sure where i am
  4. beatboxingboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Lexington TN
    #4
    I am a little embarrassed to ask this but, what is the RAM bus speed? And where can I find it? I found a number that I think might be the RAM bus speed. The number is 1333MHz.
     
  5. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #5
    i think there was an EFI update that allowed that series of mac to recognize 8GB could be wrong though
     
  6. beatboxingboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Lexington TN
  7. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #7
    Thats it - are all modules the same and the same or faster than your MBP is expecting (modules can clock down but not up to match the bus). Look in "About This Mac" - "Memory" tab to see what speed it accepts.
     
  8. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #8
    I have the 13" model from mid-2009 and was able to install 8gb (2x4) in it a few years ago. I think I bought 1066mhz.
     

Share This Page