MacBook Pro mid 2009 What is grabbing all the memory???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mariwenz, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. mariwenz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #1
    I have a Macbook pro 15" mid 2009 and after using apple tv and downloading a movie yesterday I get an error message not enough memory to start up. I reset the pram and rhen reset the actual ram chips and it starts out better but something is grabbing all the memory. When I go to system monitor no one program seems to be causing the problem (under cpu) but when I go to network it show a lot of activity! Help?? any ideas what is causing this to happen. It was okay until after we played the movie???
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    If you're trying to diagnose a RAM problem, why are you looking at CPU usage?
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
  4. mariwenz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #4
    Okay, I went to Activity Monitor and was looking under system memory and the page out kept getting larger and larger. It was over 10Gb at one time but I didn't look under All Processes. I will have to go back in when I get a chance. Thanks for the link. I will get back to the forum when I can get more info. Not able to right now.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    My iMac is currently running for 23/28 days and look at its memory usage under the SYSTME MEMORY tab.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mariwenz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #6
    So what is causing it to slow down so much if a program isn't grabbing the RAM?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    I don't know, as you didn't provide any other information. I was just responding to your "10GB of swapped memory" comment, as I have double of that and don't experience any slow down as you describe.

    If you have the chance to get a look at Activity Monitor, look at the Real Mem usage and report back.
    Maybe even take a screenshot like I did, so we can see your usage and provide better information.

    Anyhow, how much storage capacity have you left on your HDD/SSD?
     

Share This Page